Anniversaries

It just occurred to me that today would have been my wedding anniversary, had I stayed married to my first husband. I don’t know why I thought of it; the date just rang a bell somewhere in my head.

We were married in 1992 and divorced in 1999, after being together 10 years. We didn’t have any contact; that was his choice. He didn’t believe that folks should stay in touch if they had been in a relationship, and no longer were. Maybe that was less painful, in some ways.

He passed away a couple of years ago. I don’t know who lives in the house we built up on the mountain. I’m sure our dogs are long since gone. I guess the only evidence that we were marred is the marriage license – and the divorce papers – in my file cabinet. Oh, and some pictures in that blue Rubbermaid box in a storage shed in Florida.

I’ll take a moment tonight to raise a glass to what was, and what isn’t anymore. I guess we all could do that: some things only survive in our memories. I’m spending a lot of time and energy these days trying to forget things, but I guess it’s okay tonight to remember a few.

Tomorrow is my sister’s birthday. That’s a great reason to raise a glass. Maybe I’ll have to raise two…maybe you’ll join me!

This entry was posted in Everyday life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

