Still kicking

20130819_193608

Yes, I know it’s been 2.5 months since I posted. I considered stopping altogether, since I obviously have lost the ability to post on a regular basis. But I figured I should at least bring you up to speed on where I am and what I’m doing, so you don’t think I fell into a Florida sinkhole – or got et by a gator – or emigrated to Australia – or joined a convent – or (fill in the blank).

It might surprise you that I’m living in Coeur d’Alene, Idaho again, as of 10 days ago. No, I didn’t plan to move back, especially with winter approaching. But I returned for a quick visit last month, and ended up with a job. It’s a good job – Special Sections Editor for the local newspaper. I’m getting paid to write, for the first time ever. It’ll look good on the resume. It’s nice to see my name in the paper (and not in the police blotter!). I don’t really have to report to anyone, and I come and go as I please. I’m back among friends in a familiar, much-loved place. And best of all, I’m not sitting alone on my couch, worrying about paying the bills.

Do I miss the beach and my life in FL? Of course. I always miss where I’m not – it’s one of my peculiar afflictions. I miss my friends, the live music, my Trop Rock world, walking on the beach, the warm weather. But for now, this is fine. I’ll ride this wave as long as I can, and then go on to Plan B – or Q, or whichever plan I’m at now.20130809_104309

I’m living with dear friends now, and will be housesitting for other friends when they head south for the winter. My furniture is stored in St. Augustine, so I don’t have to completely say goodbye to that town. I’ll still be in Key West the first of November for the annual Jimmy Buffett convention, Meeting of the Minds; it’s my gift to myself for leaving the beach. So I’ll see my friends and hear live music and thaw out for a few days, and have a blast in one of my favorite places in the world.

I still hope to move to KW one day. But right now, I’m here. I’m busy with friends and work, it’s not snowing yet, and the sun is out. I have a reasonably active social life, and know where the hardware store is. It’s all good.

So that’s what I’m up to. My work will be online at the Coeur d’Alene Press website, in the Special Sections (the first is Family, which will be out in the next couple of days – I wrote the intro). I’m not doing long feature stories at this point, just shorter “advertorial” pieces. If I write anything of substance, I’ll make sure to let you know.

So if you don’t hear from me, don’t worry. I’m still out here. Just busy trying to keep all of the balls in the air.20130818_134612

I hope you had a great summer, and are in the midst of a stellar fall. Enjoy the warm weather while it lasts! And please don’t remind me that winter is coming – I’m doing a fine job of playing ostrich, with my head firmly in the sand about THAT issue. And praying that global warming hits North Idaho with a vengeance this year….

Stay tuned for more Idaho stories!

This entry was posted in Everyday life, Travels, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Still kicking

  1. Julie says:

    Oooo! This sounds all good, Beth! 😀 What a gorgeous place you are at! Congratulations with the new work and have fun “going with the flow” of where life takes you!

  2. Pamela says:

    When you don’t feel like writing just post a photo or two of something that you think is especially wonderful! I love the freedom of choice that you have and I’m glad you made that choice! It’s always good to challenge yourself.

  3. LLH says:

    Love the update. Keep em coming!
    Xoxo

  4. Larry Kollar says:

    Holy moly! I figured you were in Florida to stay, but it’s good that you have a job now & you’re among old friends. And knowing where the hardware store is… that’s always a good thing!

    Summer on Planet Georgia was unusually mild. And rainy. Makes me wonder what fall holds.

Leave a Reply

