Life on the island

So, in my last post I mentioned that I needed to get back to Key West again soon. Well, “soon” ended up being a week later.

In my never-ending quest to try to do more for myself, I finally have made good on my threat to live in the Keys – well, for a few weeks, anyway. After 8+ years of talking about it, I contacted a few friends in Key West and found someone who was willing to put up with me while I see what life on the island is like. I spend a few days here regularly, but my friend Robyn suggested that I stay a few weeks, if I really want to see what it’s like to live down here.

So that’s where I am. I closed up my beach apartment (my wonderful friend Ginny is watching it for me), loaded a couple of bags of stuff I couldn’t live without into the Solara, and headed south. My generous friend Carolyn greeted me at the end of the highway, and I quickly moved into her guest room. We celebrated my arrival with cocktails, and I crawled into bed on Saturday night ready to see what Sunday might bring.

It brought fun.

Since I bring my work with me, I worked for part of the day, but spent a couple of hours in the morning on my bike, exploring the island, before meeting my friend Koz at the Hog’s Breath for a beer and some great music. Copper Sky had been playing all week and I heard that they were really good, so didn’t want to miss them. And they were indeed fantastic! We ran into a few more friends (it’s a small town), and hung out until the music was done, then wandered to the Smoking Tuna to see who was playing there. We dodged raindrops (the precursor to Tropical Storm Andrea) as we walked the quiet streets, and finally headed home before midnight.

I spent my first day thinking I had made a mistake. I missed my little beach apartment, missed my friends, wondered what the heck I was doing so far from home, why I ever thought I’d want to live down here. But after spending the evening with friends listening to music, instead of sitting home alone, I knew I had made the right choice.

I’m making a list of all the things I love to do down here, and all the things I’ve wanted to do, but haven’t. I’ll hang out with my friends, listen to great music, frequent my favorite bars, and soak up life on the island. And at some point, I’ll make a decision. But right now, I’m just gonna have fun!

Stay tuned for reports on my Life on the Rock!

This entry was posted in beaches, Everyday life, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Life on the island

  1. Pamela says:

    Sounds like great fun!! Go for it!! I envy you the chance to do this!! You’ve got to do the things you’ve been hoping to do.

  2. Tom says:

    Hi Beth,
    I happened upon your blog after a google search of Kelly McGuire songs, specifically “Solitude”. It rings so true with me. And there I bumped into your comment re enjoying it as well.
    So I’m cleaning out video folders and ran into a 2007 video that my wife and I took up in Bremerton, Wa of Kelly with 3 of his friends that I’d become quite familiar with. Anyway, I’ve put the video on youtube and thought that you might get a kick out of Kelly singing Solitude 6 years ago! Eeegads. Well, I agree that I too find it to be my favorite. And in this case, I think this night was my favorite of him singing it since Gary, Mark (My Trop Rock God Father) and Rob did a masterful job of filling in around the edges.
    Enjoy

    Tom (& Zanna)
    tom0702@cox.net

    • Beth says:

      This IS one of the best renditions I’ve heard, Tom – the harp is the perfect addition! I’ve never seen him play in a theater-like setting. And yes, the other guys sure do add something special. Thanks for sharing! Hopefully I’ll find myself up in your area again soon – I miss the NW something fierce. Nice to hear from you, and I hope we meet soon. If you DO make it MOTM, let me know! And I’ll hit Schooner Wharf and listen to a MM song for you this week – one of my favorite ways to spend an hour in KW. Take care!

  3. Tom says:

    P.S. My favorite daytime bar on Key West is The Schooner Wharf Bar when Michael McCloud is playing! He sure likes picking on the tourists but I’ve seen him enough to enjoy it! My favorite song with Mike is “Just Another Song” (about Jimmy when he was just getting started). Enjoy your stay there. If we make MOTM this year, maybe we’ll look you up.

  4. LLH says:

    Blahblahblah……dream life……blahblahblah. Cheering you all the way!

    XOXO,
    LLH

Leave a Reply

