Key West adventures

IMG_0174An old friend passed through town last week. I hadn’t seen him in forever, so we spent some time catching up. Then he mentioned that he was heading to Key West for a few days, and asked if I wanted to come along as his tour guide.

I said no.

No, I’m not an idiot. I said yes, of course!

So, after a quick tour around St. Augustine, we headed south to the Keys.

We had a wonderful time. We hit all of my favorite spots, listened to lots of live music, drank signature drinks, walked Duval, watched the sunset at Mallory Square, walked Duval, caught a set of Pete and Wayne at Sloppy Joe’s, walked Duval, happy hour at Kelly’s, Michael McCloud at Schooner Wharf, toured the Hemingway House, snorkeled. And did I mention, we walked Duval?

We felt like regulars at the Hog’s Breath and the Smoking Tuna because we discovered great bands, and went back every night to catch a set or two. We had fish sandwiches at BO’s Fish Wagon, breakfast beers at the Green Parrot, Cuban coffee at Ana’s, appetizers at Kelly’s, and conch fritters and ceviche at Schooner Wharf. The only thing we missed was a piece of Key Lime pie, and we both agreed it’s just a little bit too sweet, anyway.

Since we were there midweek and the tourists were pretty much gone, it was relatively quiet – although the holiday crowds started showing up on Friday. We danced too much, laughed too much, ate and drank just enough. Met great people from out of town, and hung out with some of my local buddies. He bought Kino sandals and Key West t-shirts for the folks back home, and I made sure to take the prerequisite pictures of him at the Southernmost Point and the Mile Marker 0 signpost.

We packed a week’s worth of fun into 2.5 days, and were exhausted. But it was the good kind of tired. I was sad to send him off at the airport, but we agreed to try to make it an annual event.

Since I had just been on the island in March, I’m starting to feel like a local. (Okay, I know I’m not, but sometimes it feels like it!) And decided that I needed to return really, really soon.

So, stay tuned for my next post, and you’ll find out when “soon” might be.

And if you need a personal tour guide in the Keys, look me up!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

