Belize, Day 6

Getting ready for the party

Getting ready for the party

Thursday dawned way too early, since I fell into bed at 3am after visiting with Thom and other new friends the night before. I woke up at 6:30 and, as usual, couldn’t get back to sleep. So Sandy and I were walking the beach by 7ish, with very little rest. But we had a full day ahead – we’ll sleep when we get home.

The Big Boat

The Big Boat

We zipped into town via taxi for a change – a lot faster than bumping down the potholed road in a golf cart. Plus we had to buy snacks for the boat trip. We were scheduled to spend 6 hours on a “big boat” out by the reef, snorkeling and sunning and listening to the guys play. It was a glorious day, sunny and breezy. 70 brave souls showed up at 10am; Kelly and his entourage appeared around 11. (I’m going to rewrite one of Kelly’s songs, Turn Around and Run, and name it Hurry Up and Wait.) And we were off!

Turquoise waters and San Pedro in the background

Turquoise waters and San Pedro in the background

We cruised the turquoise waters to the reef and relaxed in the sun, swam, and waited for the smaller boats to take snorkelers to Hol Chan Reserve (the big boat wasn’t allowed that close to the reef.) I was going to try to snorkel (I’ve only gone once before, and it was in Belize years ago), but after hearing about the strong current and seeing how many people were going to be in the water, I chickened out – I mean, I wisely made the decision to laze on the boat instead. I dibbled my feet in the water, and that was enough for me.

Toes in the water!

Toes in the water!

Lunch was rum punch and ceviche (good thing I like ceviche, huh?) before sailing to the Palapa Bar (remember the Palapa Bar? My new favorite bar in the universe?), where we found our long-lost friend Hugo Duarte, and sucked down more rum punch. (This was a Bad Idea. Note to self: eat before drinking rum punch.)

Kelly and Hugo

Kelly and Hugo

All too soon, it was time to head back to the condo to get ready for the beach party at Athens Gate. Which was wonderful: great music under the stars, with the ocean in the background. I kept dropping off, though – guess the lack of sleep and food, and excess of rum punch, finally caught up with me. I had a few minutes to talk to Hugo, helped Sandy pack up the merch table, and fell face-first into my pillow by 11:30. I’m sure I missed some fun, but at that point, I was funned out. Besides, I had one more day on the island!

The obligatory palm trees on the beach shot

The obligatory palm trees on the beach shot

On the boat

On the boat

This entry was posted in beaches, Music, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

