Belize, Day 2

The view from our verandah

The view from our verandah

Greetings from San Pedro, on Ambergris Caye, where it’s windy and raining. The weather has changed every few minutes since we arrived – welcome to the tropics. We’ve been bumping along pothole-riddled roads in our golf cart (which is exactly like the one we drive in Georgia, which is pretty strange – hearing that familiar engine rumbling in an unfamiliar place), ducking between rain showers as we shop for groceries and travel to Fido’s to hear Kelly play.

The pool and bar, from our verandah

The pool and bar, from our verandah

San Pedro is very much like Melaque, the town in Mexico I’ve visited on and off the last few winters. Just a little bigger, with a few more gringo-friendly restaurants and shops. There are partially-built buildings, nice resorts, a wide variety of restaurants and stores, paved streets, and not. Our condo is a couple of miles south of the downtown area, so I haven’t had the chance to wander around there yet. But we will. Sandy and I have plans to explore, shop, and sample local cuisine. I’ve already had my share of Belikin beer, ceviche, and lobster fritters.

With Kelly

With Kelly

We spent our first night here at Fido’s with over 100 of Kelly’s closest friends from all over the US and Canada, listening to him play under the biggest palapa I’ve ever seen. Great music, great food, great energy from the crowd. Kelly is truly at home when he’s down here – they don’t call him the King of the Island for nothing!

Skies finally cleared

Skies finally cleared

Anyway, I’m doing my best to get onto island time. I was at loose ends today, feeling like I should be doing something productive. Hanging out with friends, walking on the beach, sunbathing, sleeping late – it’s been a very lazy day. Fun, but unusual for me. Hopefully tomorrow I’ll be able to relax more, and not feel this uneasiness about not working. I DID sleep 8 hours last night, which hasn’t happened in a long time.

Your chair is waiting for you!

Your chair is waiting for you!

We’re watching the Super Bowl tonight with new friends in our luxury condo. The rain is beating on the window, the palm trees are swaying in the wind, and we’re hoping it clears up in time for our snorkeling cruise tomorrow. And I have 5 more days to go!

This entry was posted in beaches, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Belize, Day 2

  1. Rachel says:

    Oh, man! Looks amazing, Beth! You must enjoy! Don’t worry, you’re not missing anything and should have no uneasiness about not working, servers are still down! ENJOY! Have a drink for me. Love from super snowy Chicago!

  2. Kay says:

    8 hours. Amazing. I’m very happy for you since I know you haven’t had much of that lately. That place looks amazing. Very jealous. Have a wonderful time (and I’m sure you will).
    On another note….. Vicky turned her ankle and is confined to sofa. She is counting the minutes for the server to come back up. She sure could be getting a lot of transcription done.

  3. Paula Langley says:

    Hey Cuz, Enjoy every minute…we love you!

  4. Absolutely beautiful! Have another Belkin for me – glad you’re having a good time.

Leave a Reply

