If today was your last day

I heard this song yesterday as I was wandering through Kohl’s, and it stopped me in my tracks. Thanks to the wonders of my SmartPhone, I Googled it and read the lyrics right there in the Clearance section. And they struck home. It’s always been my mantra, to never put things off, to live each day to the fullest because we have no guarantee that there’ll be a tomorrow. Recently, I’ve been slacking, sitting on the sidelines, waiting for something – anything – to happen to me. Wasting precious time. I guess the Tiki Gods have decided it’s time I get back on track.

And it made me ask myself the question, “If today was my last day, who would I want to spend it with?” I knew the answer right away.

If today was your last day, what would you spend it doing? And who would you do it with? Do you know? Because one of these days, today WILL be your last day.

Get busy.

If Today Was Your Last Day – Nickelback

My best friend gave me the best advice
He said each day’s a gift and not a given right
Leave no stone unturned
Leave your fears behind
And try to take the path less traveled by
That first step you take is the longest stride

If today was your last day
And tomorrow was too late
Could you say goodbye to yesterday
Would you live each moment like your last
Leave old pictures in the past
Donate every dime you have
If today was your last day

Against the grain should be a way of life
What’s worth the price is always worth the fight
Every second counts ’cause there’s no second try
So live it like you’re never living twice
Don’t take the free ride in your whole life

If today was your last day
And tomorrow was too late
Could you say goodbye to yesterday
Would you live each moment like your last
Leave old pictures in the past
Donate every dime you have
And would you call old friends you never see
Reminisce old memories
Would you forgive your enemies
And would you find that one you’re dreaming of
Swear up and down to God above
That you’ll finally fall in love
If today was your last day

If today was your last day
Would you make your mark
On ending a broken heart
You know it’s never too late
To shoot for the stars
Regardless of who you are
So do whatever it takes
‘Cause you can’t rewind
A moment in this life
Let nothing stand in your way
‘Cause the hands of time
Are never on your side

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to If today was your last day

  1. Yvonne says:

    This reminded me of a day last summer when I was in a shop up here on the hill with Colette. A song played that did the exact same thing to me (music speaks, right??). It’s called Roses by Darren Hayes. Check it out. I know just what you mean.

    • Beth says:

      Oh yeah, you are definitely right! I might have to post that one, too. Looks like we’re not the only ones thinking about how short our time here on Earth is, YB. And appreciating every second. Trying to get out there to see you – hopefully this spring! Love you!

    • Beth says:

      And I remember reading it, a couple of years ago! Great minds think alike, huh? 🙂 And you’re right, it’s relationships that mean the most. Like I said, my first thought was who I would spend the day with, not what I would do on that day. It’s all about people – and old friends! Thanks for you contribution to the concept, Phil. 🙂

  2. LLH says:

    Hhhhhmmmmmmm…..okay. I know you werent asking for a list of peeps, but cant help it: I see me with my kidlums and grandsons, parents, sister, nieces and nephew and their fams, and the grans sitting around the big farmhouse table playing board games. Quite the opposite end of the realm from what a lot of people talk about, seeing the world, giving away all their money, curing cancer – the WHO makes all that big stuff quite inconsequential. Ill take my scenario! And, all my bestest girls are invited too, BETH!
    XOXOXO

  3. Clarity in the Kohl’s Clearance. I love it. Once again proving- you never know where inspiration will strike. Ever since 9/11, that thought has resonated with me. Not that I have fully embraced it (shame on me) but it sure helps prioritize and motivates me to set things right with people. Is this what inspired your trip to Belize? Not sure if you found the video, but it’s very fun: http://youtu.be/maINUv2H8A0. What if? xo

    • Beth says:

      Hey Karen! No, the Belize trip had been planned for a while – celebrating a musician friend’s 60th birthday. I’ll check out the video when I come up for air…. but whatever motivates you to appreciate the now, is good! xo

Leave a Reply

