Pieces of the past

And now it’s been three months since my last post. Is anyone still out there? But I think the drought has ended; I’ve been missing the opportunity to write – and am not really in a space to start another book. This blog was always my chance to practice putting words on paper, as well as sharing a few thoughts in the process. I always thought I did my best writing here. But life got in the way. However, maybe it’s time I tried to get back to it – a little at a time, anyway.

Tonight, I want to share a story. I got an email from an old friend a few weeks ago, asking for my current address. Friends had been cleaning out my ex-husband’s home after his passing and found a bracelet that belonged to me, and wanted to return it. I had no clue what she was talking about – I’d been divorced 13 years. How would they know it was my bracelet? So I sent her my address, and waited. And this week, an envelope arrived.

I opened it, curious about what bracelet they could have found – and discovered this:

My silver baby bracelet.

So at least I know how they knew it was mine. But not how it ended up there. I didn’t realize I had lost it; I don’t know where they found it. Or why my ex didn’t make any attempt to return it to me. But none of that really matters; I’m just thrilled that they wanted to return it to me. And I’m thrilled to have it back.

I lost so much of my past when I moved to Arizona; the Universe was pretty greedy that year. I lost my high school and college yearbooks; my favorite Christmas ornaments; mugs I had collected around the world; kitchen tools that my father bought me before he died. So it was nice to get a piece of my history back, for a change.

Now, it lives on my chest of drawers, where I can see it every day. My parents are gone, so I can’t ask them about its history – like who bought it for me. Maybe I’ll ask my aunt, and she if she has any idea. But either way, at least it’s in my possession again.

A boss once told me, “Three moves is as bad as a fire,” and it sure is true – I’ve lost so much as I’ve moved back and forth across the country. Hopefully, now that my crazy gypsy lifestyle seems to have slowed down, I won’t be losing anything else!

So treasure those little things that remind you of your past, of who you were and where you came from. And thank you to those anonymous friends who cared enough to return a piece of my past to me.

This entry was posted in Everyday life. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pieces of the past

  1. Yvonne says:

    I love this story. And I love that you are writing….

  2. Deb D. says:

    Welcome back! How great that they took the time to return this treasure…must have made your day πŸ™‚

  3. Julie says:

    You may have lost things, but you have gained many friends along the way. πŸ™‚ Nice to see you back on the blog, Beth. We seem to go through seasons.

  4. Pamela says:

    I know what you mean about moving. As a navy brat, I must’ve moved a million times! Not only did I lose things, I became very cynical about my friends as well. But I remember an especially loved ragdoll that had been made for me by an old woman who was a patient at my grandmother’s old-age home. It was one of those dolls made out of a sock and she it pasted a Baby face cut from a magazine where the face was supposed to be which quickly went by the by. So all I had was the faceless baby doll that I loved beyond all reason. And my mother hated it so much. Because it looked ugly. Whenever we moved, she would throw it in the trash but I would always find it and take it with us. But she finally outfoxed me and it’s gone. It’s not gone from my memory but I would love to have it none the less. But it’s good in my memory, it’s good and safe.

    • Beth says:

      I love this story! I’m sorry you lost her. I sure know about losing things in moves….

      That’s the safest place for things we love. As long as we have the memories of treasured people, events, or things, they’re never really gone.

  5. Loretta says:

    I’m happy for you Beth that a little bit of your past showed up. I know you were disappointed to say the least, when so much of your stuff was lost in that one particular move. Merry Christmas!

  6. Anonymous says:

    Okay…..FIRST OFF – I’m SO glad you wrote – anything. I used to wake up every day, and your blog was the first thing I would read. Please try to throw some words out there a little more often for your starving readers. Second, I read and scrolled – to the picture. It made me cry. Literally, that wet stuff that comes from your eyes? How kind of them, and how very lucky for you. Merry Christmas to you, BH. Enjoy your little unexpected nostaligic gift. They may just be the best kind. πŸ™‚

    XOXO
    LH

    • Beth says:

      You’ve always been a loyal reader (and a few other things!), LH. I promise to try and write more often. And yes, unexpected treats are the best! xo

  7. Rachel says:

    You might settle down a little, but you’ll always be a gypsy! That’s a good thing! And, omg, that bracelet is AMAZING. What a sweet story and how awesome that it made it back to you. Thanks for sharing. Man, that is such an awesome little treasure! Set things free and they come back to you! Or, haha, don’t even realize you set them free and when they come back, you’re like, “HOLY SH*T!”

  8. Hey, you’re not dead, hooray! More seriously,* I’m glad this piece of your past sought you out and that you’re finding some time to write again.

    Cheers,
    Kelly

    *I am absolutely delighted to find you still alive, but I wasn’t all that worried having seen the odd comment from you here and there.

    • Beth says:

      Thanks for taking the time to visit and comment, Kelly. Yeah, I’m out here somewhere…and really need to put more words on paper. That would be a good New Year’s resolution…if I made them. πŸ™‚

  9. Laura says:

    Hello! My husband has been encouraging me to blog and I’m afraid to get started since it seems like such a commitment. Happy to see you can leave it for a few months and return when the mood striketh. Loved this story, please write more!

    • Beth says:

      Hi Laura! Thanks for stopping! The only commitment is to yourself, and how often you have something to say. I’ve had years where I blogged sporadically, and some where I did it daily. And now, where I rarely do. Whatever you can manage, works. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

