The next chapter

Can it really have been two months since I posted? My abject apologies. Y’all must have given up on me! My energies have been directed elsewhere. But tonight I’m sitting in a mostly empty apartment reminiscing, and thought I would share some of my thoughts.

I’m moving again. But this time, it’s not across the country. I’m not storing everything I own in a 20×10 shed and hitting the road. I’m not sailing around the world. I’m just moving 1/2 hour up the road. You can barely call it a move, except that it requires all of the motions of any other move. There are still boxes to fill, addresses to change, new neighborhoods to explore. I just didn’t have to pack quite as carefully as I normally do, which made it a lot easier. 

I’m excited about this move. I’ll be saving money. Living in a really nice place, near really nice people. I spend way too much time alone, so I’m hoping they’ll save me from my hermit tendencies. There’s a pool and jacuzzi and fire pit and trees and a dog – what else does a girl need? It’s smaller, but works into my plan to simplify my life. So, it’s all good.

It’s hard to believe it’s been a year since I moved here. Well, a year and a month since I arrived in St Augustine; a year since I moved into this condo. I spent the first month without my belongings, waiting for my cousin to drive them across the country for me. (Thanks again, cuz!) I had a beach chair and my laptop, and an empty condo. But after being on the road for months, it was nice to have a place to call home. Even if it meant sitting in a beach chair staring at blank walls for weeks…

A lot has happened since then. I’ve made new friends, developed new habits, learned new songs. It’s been an interesting year. Would I change any of it? Maybe. There were great times and sad ones. But I believe everything happens as it’s supposed to, so even the bad times were necessary. (I’d just like to know WHY they were necessary, please. Although I’m not sure I’d sign up for them again, given the choice. But there has to be bad to appreciate the good, right? RIght?)

It’s strange, knowing that I’ll be here next year, and the year after that, and the year after that, after a lifetime of moving every year. I don’t have a feeling of time running out. I look at someone and remind myself, oh yes, we’ll still be having lunch here next year. I don’t have to line up my “This is the last time I…” events.

My local friends are afraid they’ll never see me again, but they don’t understand that 1/2 hour really is nothing for a road warrior – even a retired one. I’ll be down here regularly, selling Island Mojo hot sauce (why haven’t you bought yours yet? What are you waiting for? It’s great! Click here to order yours!), having lunch and drinks with friends, working at Tim’s Wine Market. Sunning at the beach. Strolling St. George Street. I’ll just return to a different address at the end of the day.

I’m also planning to get my books online, FINALLY, as soon as the whole packing/moving/unpacking thing is over. I sure hope you plan on buying them! Stay tuned for details, as soon as I have ’em.

Anyway, tomorrow my furniture travels up US1. Friday I clean – I might have to hit the beach for an hour or two when that’s done. There’s live music all weekend. Hopefully I’ll have time to unpack Saturday, since an old friend arrives Sunday for a visit. Then life gets back to normal – it’ll just be normal in a new town. 

Thanks to all of my friends who offered to help, and who hauled boxes. I rarely have help when I move, so that was a nice treat! I continue to be blessed with amazing friends. 

Wish me luck the next couple of days, although the hard work is pretty much done. Stay tuned for details about the book releases. And here’s hoping that the next year brings more smiles than tears. For all of us. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The next chapter

  1. Julie says:

    Wishing you nothing but good stuff in your new move, Beth! Looking forward to the books! 🙂

  2. Pamela says:

    Send me some photos of your new place!! It sounds really nice!! Sometimes smaller and more compact is bigger! If you know what I mean.

  3. Larry Kollar says:

    Hope you settle in quickly! And that you find someone who can edit your books before you upload them. 😉

Leave a Reply

