Still alive!

Wow, I can’t believe it’s been over two months since I posted. Life just seems to get in the way. I find myself distracted by work, music, friends, exercise, eating, sleeping – not a lot of room left for writing in that schedule. A wise friend told me that passions come and go in our lives, so maybe this is the time for my writing to take a back seat while I pursue the balance I’ve missed over the last few years.

Life is good. I’m busy, as you can see. I’m working for three transcription companies, yet still can’t seem to create a reasonable work schedule. Maybe the nature of the entire industry is feast or famine. Anyway, the bills are paid, and that’s what matters. I’m trying to figure out a better way to pay those bills than pounding on a laptop all day and night, but nothing’s come up yet. I’m grateful that I can work at home and maintain a flexible schedule, so I can’t really complain.

I’m still spending my free time listening to live music, and hanging out with musician friends. And meeting new ones! I’m blessed to live in a part of the world where I can sip a cold drink and get lost in the words and the music while sitting outside, on a beach, or at least near a body of water. I spent way too many years not finding time to play, so I’m enjoying making listening to music a priority.

I’m making friends, most of them associated with my music world. I guess I should join some clubs or something to meet different folks, but I’m not sure where I’d find the time! I get out for a drink or lunch with friends regularly, fighting the hermit tendencies I seem to be developing as I get older. But if you could see the beautiful place I live in, you’d understand. My condo faces the marsh, and it feels like I have no neighbors when I gaze out at the waving grasses, and birds, and water.

I’m still not traveling much. I did find time for a quick trip to Texas to visit – you guessed it – musician friends. Sandy and I ran around like crazy women, visiting a rum distillery, hanging out at Kemah Boardwalk and riding the Beast, lounging by the pool and in the hot tub. I sat on the beach at Galveston and listened to my friend Kelly and his band play as the sun set, and it was magic. It was fun to get out of Dodge and see dear friends, but also really good to get home again.

And that’s life in the not-so-fast lane. I guess this is what it feels like to be a normal, non-traveling person! Something new for me. I apologize for the long absence, but when you just go through your day doing regular stuff, there isn’t much to write about! I’ll stop in when I can, but until then, you know how to find me if you’re wondering what’s going on in my world.

I hope everyone is healthy, and happy, and as busy as you want to be. Stay cool as the heat descends, and be thankful it’s not snowing…..I am! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Still alive!

  1. Julie says:

    Beth! I was just thinking, yesterday, that I needed to catch up and see how you were doing! Good to hear you are happy and enjoying your life as it is, now. I have a friend that is planning a move (soon-eventually) to a spot on the Atlantic a little further south than you are.

    • Beth says:

      Hey Julie! Thanks – yes, I’m fine, just crazy busy. Hope you guys survived the fires just fine, with no damage. Hopefully your friend likes this part of the world as well as I do! Nice to hear from you. Thought of you when I was in your old neighborhood! Take good care, and thanks for thinking of me. xoxo

  2. Anonymous says:

    Ha! THERE you are! LOL Glad that you sound so happy. Happy for you, Dear Friend! ❤

Leave a Reply

