Songs!

I was sitting on the beach this week, sipping an adult beverage with friends, when a song started playing on Radio Margaritaville. “Hmm,” I thought, “that sounds familiar.”

And it was. It was Mayday, the first song John Reno and I co-wrote. A song that was on the first ballot for Trop Rock Song of the Year in 2011 by the Trop Rock Music Association. (It didn’t make the cut, but it was still nice to be considered.) A song that I heard one day when I felt like I didn’t matter, that life was too hard, that no one cared. I sang it at the top of my lungs (luckily I was in my car with the windows rolled up) and screamed to the world at large that I DID count, that I had helped write those lyrics, that I did have something to say. For a few minutes, life was a heck of a lot better.

Anyway, I pointed it out to my friends, who kindly listened, and I felt like a star. My 15 minutes of fame.

Then today an email popped into my in-box from a friend in Massachusetts. I’ve contributed lyrics to 2-3 songs for his band, but haven’t heard the results. Until today. I was sitting in a bar listening to a friend play music when the mail came in, and I immediately downloaded it and listened to it – on my phone. (Remember when phones were just for making phone calls?) With a stupid grin on my face. There’s nothing like hearing your words sung by a real singer with real music. And once it’s on a CD, it’ll be even better… It was VERY cool!

Anyway, just a couple of reminders that I need to get back to writing. Life just won’t slow down long enough for me to squeeze it in these days, but I need to figure out what I can give up to find time for it. Maybe I could get by on 4 hours of sleep….

Happy Easter AND Passover to all who celebrate. I had my annual Cadbury Creme Egg last week, so my celebration is complete. Unless they go on sale next week!

Hippity hoppity!

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Songs!

  1. bajadock says:

    Beth, cheers from all of the white-tailed bunnies in my neighborhood.

  2. Pamela says:

    That’s so cool! Do you get some royalties?? that’s nice too… and don’t forget girl, you count too! We’ve got your back!

    • Beth says:

      Thanks Pami! Some days are diamonds, some days are stone. That was a stone day, long ago – most are diamonds these days! 🙂 xo

  3. FARfetched says:

    Yay, that *is* cool!

    [recloaking because of WP change]

  4. Julie says:

    This was very good to hear! 🙂

Leave a Reply

