Spring!

I think spring starts this week – officially, anyway. It never really ended here. The-Winter-That-Wasn’t morphed into spring which oozed into summer – and it’s only the middle of March. Every time I look outside and don’t see snow, don’t wear a coat, don’t fear driving on icy roads, I thank my lucky stars that I escaped the frozen north. (Remind me of this when we’re sweltering in NEFL in August, while my friends in North Idaho are enjoying humidity-free days…)

We HAVE had a few cold days. Unfortunately, they seem to happen on days/nights when I’m attending music gigs outside, and I spend hours wrapped in countless layers, hovering around a mug of coffee and cursing the winter wind. The next day it’ll be 80 degrees, and I shake my fist at the capricious weather gods. Today it’s supposed to be 78; with my luck, a freak storm will sweep in just as I’m arriving at the venue. Cross your fingers that I get to spend a couple of hours soaking up the sun and NOT trying to thaw out frozen toes.

I’ve put the ebook project on hold. There’s a chance a publisher might be interested in reading one of my manuscripts, so I don’t want to muddy the waters until that decision has been made. I’m not getting my hopes up, but it’s one step closer to seeing my name in print, which is a nice feeling.

I met a musician who’s looking for someone to co-write with, so I might have some more songs out there soon. Seems like I have a lot of projects simmering on back burners; they’re all going to come to a rolling boil at once, and I’ll look back at these quiet days with longing. (From my lips to God’s ears, right?)

This month I’m squeezing watching college basketball into my balanced life of music, work, and play. Although my bracket needs CPR, with all of these upsets. Still haven’t figured out how to fit in writing and exercising, but a girl has to have goals, right?

I hope the week ahead holds countless joys for you – thanks for stopping by to see what I’m up to. Life is good – I hope yours is, too!

This entry was posted in Everyday life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring!

  1. bajadock says:

    Cheers from soggy Baja. Guinness stew is keeping the place warm during 3 day rain storm.

    Someone kept pouring me tequila last night.

    Thanks for your good news, Beth!

  2. Beth, I’ve been lurking, so busy, but had to comment on your post for a couple of reasons both regarding e-books! First, my publisher Muse It Up has just released my first novel (I’m now a novelist!) The Mall Fairies: Exile. Second, with my partner, Bruce, I’ve opened my own e-book publishing company Barbarian Books at http://www.barbarianbooks.com. AND most important, you are correct, many publishers do not take already published manuscripts in any form (including on your blog). This is true of Barbarian Books. Something for all writers to consider.

Leave a Reply

