Balance, part 2

And a month goes by unnoticed. Well, not unnoticed. I noticed it zooming by as I filled it with work, play, chores, friendship, family, music, and whatever else takes up our time as we wander through life.

My sister and brother-in-law have been here for a few weeks, escaping the frozen North. They’ve been playing tourist and enjoying our unusually warm winter, and I’ve joined them when I can.

My paying job continues to be feast or famine, so either I’m not working or sitting up all night – there doesn’t seem to be a happy medium.

I get out to listen to live music as often as I can, which continues to be my favorite way to spend free time – well, one of my favorites, anyway! If it involves chocolate and tequila, then it moves much closer to the “favorite” status.

And writing – well, the manuscript isn’t any closer to being finished. But that’s at the top of this list starting first thing Monday morning. Promise! And I agreed to help a friend with song lyrics, so hopefully I’ll find time to do that this week, too.

I backed away from this blog to try to find balance in a life that often seems weighted too much toward work and not enough toward play. And I seem to be succeeding; the “play” part of my life has increased quite nicely. Now I just need to increase the time spent creating/writing/reading. It’s an eternal struggle, isn’t it, finding that perfect mix between work and play, pursuing passions and filling needs. I haven’t conquered it yet. But I’m a lot closer.

I’ll be back when the manuscript is polished. Hopefully that’ll be this week! Keep your fingers crossed…

This entry was posted in Everyday life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Balance, part 2

  1. Pamela says:

    I know what you mean. I sat down to work on my family tree blog for just a few minutes and I looked up it was dark outside! Time passes so quickly when you’re having fun!

  2. bajadock says:

    You wrestle with yourself often. true? Suggest more tequila(Don Julio is mine) and chocolate and whatever else gets you flowing. 8) Glad to know that music sets you free. Encouragement from the left coast. SALUDOS!

  3. bajadock says:

    My favorite B&B proprietor, thank you, certainly knows how to relax. Your photos do not lie. Coffee & fog this morning before today’s workout. Hope your day is full of fun.

Leave a Reply

