Would you read this book?

Here’s your chance to change the course of history…

Okay, not really. Let’s say it’s your chance to put in your two cents’ worth, which might change a very small part of the future, how’s that?

I have to write a description to convince the world to read my book, Soul Searching. Believe it or not, it’s a lot harder than it sounds!

Anyway, here’s what I’ve come up with. Would you want to read it? Does it make sense? Is it too depressing, confusing, detailed, vague? Be honest – my future is at stake. (Okay, it’s not THAT dire, but the truth is a lot more helpful than empty flattery.)

Add your comments! Your thoughts might be the difference between the book being a huge success and dying a slow death in an online bargain bin somewhere…

Thanks!!

(PS – And if you have a better idea for a title, I’d like to hear that, too!)

************

When we refuse to forgive, we lose a piece of our soul. But where do those pieces go? And how do we get them back?

Tara Davies’ life changed forever when she was eight years old. Now she’s 39, and after spending her life roaming the world she returns home to Oregon, hoping to rebuild her relationship with her father.  But an attack leaves him in a coma before she can ask the question that will determine their future, and her dreams of a normal life are once again shattered.

Her aunt Deirdre, who disappeared 30 years earlier, is killed in the same attack. Tara is stunned when Deirdre leaves her the McCarthy family home, promising that if Tara restores the house to its former glory, it will help her find what she’s been seeking – even though Tara herself has no idea what that is.

For a rootless wanderer like Tara, owning a house ranks right up there with root canals and paying taxes. But she decides to stay in Surfside long enough to repair the house in spite of warnings from Lee, a tavern owner who seems to know more about the house – and Deirdre – than he is willing to admit. She’ll fix it, sell it, and move on.

But as Tara works on the house, she discovers that it doesn’t obey the laws of physics. Doors lock and unlock, holes refuse to stay patched, and a mermaid guards hidden treasure. Her nights are filled with dreams of her family’s past that border on nightmares. And people keep showing up on her doorstep, claiming that the house is calling them.

The final straw comes when her mother mistakes Tara for her long-long sister Deirdre and assures her that the house is still guarding their secrets. Tara has to admit that, as crazy as it sounds, the house has something to teach her – if it doesn’t kill her first.

Tara has to battle obstacles, both seen and unseen, to uncover the truth about the secrets that the house protects. And when faced with the ultimate betrayal, must decide what price she is willing to pay to earn forgiveness – or deny it.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Would you read this book?

  1. Sandy Records says:

    I definitely like it and want to read more!

  2. Pamela says:

    Just a quick comment right now: I wonder if you’re giving too much away? I don’t know the story of course. I don’t know what’s going to unfold. The story sounds very intriguing but I think we need to know a little bit more about Tara.

    I’ll write some more later.

  3. Warren says:

    Very good! A few observations. The first is merely technical: I believe the ‘long-long sister’ in paragraph six should be ‘long-lost sister’. Also, this seems too short for a true synopses, but a little too long for a book blurb (or query) so it might need some fleshing-out or some paring depending on your intent. If you’re into paring, I was more intrigued (and yes…this book does indeed sound intriguing…but then again…I read it, lol) anyway, I was more intrigued at the end of paragraph six than I was at paragraph seven. Just a thought. Keep up the great work!

    • Beth says:

      It’s kind of a long description, but not a blurb or synopsis. And yes, long-long is quite wrong-wrong. Interesting that you were more intrigued earlier – all great comments, thanks! It’s still al work in progress…and apparently needs more work! 🙂 Thanks!

  4. Warren says:

    Oops…synopsis…I mean… 🙂

  5. Julie says:

    I would read this book! I agree with Pamela, if you may be giving too much away, though. Sort of like the movie trailers that tell you the whole story in 2 minutes. Are the last 2 paragraphs telling too much? Oh, I was a bit confused about how Deirdre, who was lost 30 years ago(?) could have been killed in an attack that seems recent to have affected the father, as well. Is it important to have that tid-bit of 30 years lost in the description?

    Very intriguing and atmospheric, Beth! 🙂

    • Beth says:

      Good points, Julie! It’s hard to decide what’s important and what’s not when you know the story. It helps to have an outside point of view. I’ll work on it – thanks!!

  6. Pamela says:

    Not knowing the story, I would assume what is in the synopsis is just a beginning, that there is more, much more. Am I right? I re-read the synopsis again today and I must tell you, I want to read the book!!
    But, I agree with Warren that it should be a bit more compact. I am not sure exactly where this synopsis is going to be used. Back when we bought books in bookstores, I would buy 30 or 40 or 50 to take back to Japan. (Paperbacks in those days were double, triple the price in Japan….) I would stand in the racks and grab them by the shopping cart full. And I read the blurbs and decided on that basis. With new authors (to me), if it sounded interesting / intriguing, I bought it. To me, that synopsis had to a quick and good read for me to like it and if I liked it, it was usually a good book, too!

    • Beth says:

      Yep, that’s the idea, write enough to make them want to read more. A synopsis tells the end – a blurb doesn’t. But this is too long for a blurb and too short for a synopsis. They asked for a short description – I need to keep tweaking it. But thanks!! I hope to have it out there for you to read soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

