Getting closer…

One incredibly long weekend later, and my manuscript is one step closer to showing its face to the world.

Contrary to popular belief, there are a lot of steps involved in preparing a book for publication as an ebook; it’s not just a matter of taking a Word doc and clicking “post.” There are descriptions to write, documents to format, and forms to fill out. I’m not even going to mention planning how you’re going to market it!

But first, you have to make sure the book itself is ready. Even though I wrote it, I had to reread it to remember what it was about. After all, it’s been a while. Then I discovered that at some point, someone advised me to delete some chapters. But they were good chapters, and I missed them. So I had to put them back in. Which meant revamping a lot of other chapters to delete redundancies. Not to mention that I’m a better writer now than I was then, so there were corrections to make to tighten up the writing.

Anyway, the last three days were spent reading, and rereading, and rereading again. This afternoon I decided it was as good as I was going to get it – for now – and sent it off to my sister, who will catch any mistakes that I missed.

So now I have to work on describing what the book is about, which is almost harder than writing the actual book. Try to condense 90,000 words into 250 words, and have it make sense…

And that’s where the project sits tonight. Tomorrow I’ll write the long and short descriptions, and catch up on all of the chores and errands I didn’t do while I was manuscript-ing this weekend. And maybe even do some paying work!

Hopefully my next post will report that I’m that much closer to being done. Guess you’ll have to come back to find out when that happens…

Thanks for stopping! Stay tuned…

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Getting closer…

  1. Pamela says:

    Oh, I was in publishing, so I know all about that. Sometimes more work than writing it, …well, not really, but we editors like to think so. Ha ha ha.

    With an eBook, do you make decisions about fonts, web-fonts??? I think that makes a big difference in readability….

    • Beth says:

      I’m sure editing is harder than writing in many ways! I still believe writing it is the easy part… And I don’t think we do – they recommend we use a common font like TImes New Roman, and then they turn the Word doc into an ebook format. I don’t know much about ereaders – yet, anyway! But I will…

  2. Goodreads. Get on it now, build a social circle, find some potential reviewers & offer them ARCs (Advance Review Copies). If you’re already there, let me know! Good to hear writing is the easy part — I haven’t found an “easy” part just yet. 😀

    For Pamela: eReaders allow readers to select a typeface and size (large print edition at the touch of a button) so the important thing is to use consistent style definitions and avoid overriding them.

    • Pamela says:

      I know people like to change the fonts. Make them bigger and all that. But as a book designer and having worked with really talented designers in the past having a set kind of font really does make a difference in the feeling of the book. It’s too bad that it’s going away with the readers.

Leave a Reply

