It’s here!

After weeks of fighting with a glacial software program, I was finally able to complete my book of blog postings for 2006, as I mentioned in the last post. I hated hitting the “print” key because I knew there were probably a bunch of formatting errors, but every time I proofed the document, the program scrambled the existing text and created even more problems. So I finally had to decide that it was good enough (not a concept I’m familiar with), and order the doggone book.

Well, it arrived yesterday, and I tore open the box with a combination of anticipation and dread. My first impression was disappointment because I thought I ordered one with a dust cover like the first book, but it didn’t arrive that way. I got over that quickly, though, and browsed through the book. And it looks just fine. Granted, there are things I would like to have changed, but all in all, it’s fine. It needs more pictures, but I didn’t take many in 2006. I’m sure there will be more in the following books (since I have over 17,000 pictures, there MUST be a bunch from the following years!).

Anyway, it looks great, and I’m thrilled to have it sitting on my coffee table. Even though I published it myself, there’s just something about a real “flesh and blood” book that you can hold and flip the pages. And it’s made me consider figuring out a way to make my pending ebooks available in print…one more thing to add to the to-do list.

Unfortunately, these books are expensive – I didn’t create them with selling them in mind, just for my own use. Believe me, the novels will be affordable! But if you win the lottery and want copies, follow the links on the “Books” page and order them – I’ll be thrilled and flattered! And would even autograph them for you. 🙂

Now I’m off to peruse my book again, and relive good times with friends, and try not to proofread it too much. Then hopefully I’ll find time to keep hacking away at proofing my manuscript, so I can format it for publication as an ebook – it’s taking forever!

Thanks for stopping, and stay tuned for more updates on “Beth finally dips her toe into the digital publishing world.”

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s here!

  1. Yay Beth! I think the only way to really proofread your work is to try not proofreading it. That’s when you’ll see all the errors. 😀

    Just finished my own blog post, now for some writing of the fictional variety.

  2. Warren says:

    Whoo-hoo! Congrats, Beth!

  3. Julie says:

    Yes, congratulations, Beth!

  4. bajadock says:

    Prospero Año Nuevo! Glad to get your good news here on the left coast. CHEERS

  5. Beth says:

    Thanks folks! It’s fun to see my name on a “real” book – even if I did it myself!

Leave a Reply

