Changes

Happy 2012! Yes, I know the new year is three weeks old already, but since I haven’t popped up here this year, the greeting seemed appropriate. It’s been a hectic year, as I try to learn to balance work and play. So far, I’m not sure how successful I’ve been, although I have made progress on some of my own projects that were languishing on my dusty to-do list for eons (okay, years, anyway).

I’m working on creating books of my blog entries from my dearly departed blog, a year at a time. (For those of you unfamiliar with the story, Google ate my beloved blog, along with five years of my thoughts, hopes, dreams, fears, writing…sob. May they rot in Hades.) In spite of the move toward digital media, “real” books still have their place, and one of those places is on my coffee table. So I’m trying to retrieve my lost posts and get them into book form before they disappear forever. So far I’ve finished two books – tales and pictures from my round-the-world adventure in 2005, and from 2006, “the year after.” If you’re interested in buying one, they’re available here. There’s also an electronic version for iPads and iPhones, if you’re so inclined.

I’m also working on publishing one of my novels as an ebook, as an experiment. It’s not doing me any good stored in my laptop, so why not make it available for others to enjoy? I’m hoping to have that project done in the next week or two. There are a lot of steps involved, and one begats four more, but hopefully I’ll conquer that project soon. I’ll be sure to let you know when it’s available!

I’m trying to limit the hours I work and increase the hours I play, but so far haven’t had a lot of luck with that. Work continues to be feast or famine so when it’s available, I have to bury my head and get it done. I’m trying to find alternative income sources that DON’T cause tendonitis and Numb Butt Syndrome – stay tuned to see how I do with that.

I’ve hung up my traveling shoes – or at least the ones that require spending weeks in the car and driving thousands of miles. Hopefully a weekend here and there will satisfy my wanderlust. Time will tell, but so far I’m very content to wake up in my own bed each day, and make plans for the future, knowing that I’ll be here.

So today I’ll be watching football, and continuing to hack away at the ebook project. NE FL is experiencing beautiful weather – low 70’s and sunny every day. THIS is why we live in Florida, folks. You can laugh at me when it’s gorgeous in the north and we’re sweltering this summer, but today, I’m thrilled to be wearing flip flops, enjoying the warm breeze blowing through the window, and not worrying about icy roads, snow shovels, or frozen fingers.

I’ve made some changes to the site – check out the new “Songs” and “Books” pages, and click on the links if you’re so inclined! And watch for new books and songs to appear on these pages as they’re available – I have a few in the works.

Heartfelt wishes for a healthy and happy 2012 to everyone – stay tuned!

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Changes

  1. phil says:

    So impressed that you are getting on board to what the present and future world of publishing (like it ir not) does and will look like.

    And for the record, permission was given to Google for deleting that Blog… sad as it is. 🙂 😦

    • Beth says:

      It was uninformed permission! They didn’t tell me deleting what I thought was an obsolete Google username would zap my blog, and THEN that there are no humans to help me get it back…

      Always the stickler, Phii! 🙂 But thanks for the vote of confidence – I’ll be picking your brain when I need advice from the Social Media Guru!

  2. Glad to see that you’re dipping a toe in the indy publishing market. I’m thinking increasingly that’s the way to go for a lot of people. I wish you success and joy in the endeavor.

    • Beth says:

      Thanks Kelly! I figured it can’t hurt. It’ll be an interesting experiment. We’ll see what happens…I need to read your vaca reports – looks like you guys had a great trip! Thanks for taking the time to comment… 🙂

Leave a Reply

