Content

I was thinking the other day about more. Specifically, wanting more. I won’t go into the gory details of WHY I was thinking about that, but it involved my writerly brain going off on wild tangents as I washed dishes, imagining the conversation I would have with someone if/when they accused me of never being satisfied, of wanting more.

And it’s true, I DO always want more. More than one scoop of chocolate ice cream. A bigger paycheck. Another hour of sleep. One more margarita. But that doesn’t mean that I’m not content with what I have. I preach that one chocolate chip cookie is enough; the next few are going to taste the same as the first one did. Two drinks loosen my tongue. One hour is plenty of time to catch up with a friend.

I can imagine folks think that I’m not content, since I always want more. But isn’t that part of life? How can you continue to grow if you don’t keep stretching? I want to be wiser. Write more books and more songs. See more places. Be smaller chested (okay, that’s not more, that’s less – but I digress). Learn to play the guitar (again). Learn to sail. Have a handsome man to spend time with. Live on an island – or in a log cabin in the woods. Or both.

But that doesn’t mean that I’m not content. If all I ever have is what I have right now, I’m a lucky girl. What’s the saying about how happy you’d be if you lost everything you have, and then got it all back? I’m happier than I’ve been in years. Maybe that’s a function of my age, or of starting to feel settled. Or maybe I AM actually getting wiser! I have good friends, a nice home, a little money in the bank. I’m not rich, but I’m also not standing on a street corner with a cardboard sign. I live a couple of miles from the beach. I won’t have to drive on icy roads this winter. I’ve even had a date or two recently! One of the songs I cowrote was on the initial ballot for Trop Rock Song of the Year; an agent is reading my third book. (I’m even considering publishing one of my books as an ebook; stay tuned for more on that.) When folks ask me how I am, I truly can say, “Great!”

I’m notorious for always looking ahead instead of appreciate what’s right in front of me. And I’ve worked on that for years, repeating to myself, “This is enough.” Maybe I’ve finally started listening to myself.

I’ll always want more. But if I never get it, I’ll be just fine. Because…I am content.

So the next time you offer me that second shot of tequila, don’t be surprised if I say yes – as long as someone drives me home!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Content

  1. LoriH says:

    There is no one, NO one who doesnt want more. Or they would be dead. Seriously! I dont want more….I want it ALL (and I shall have it too)! And, I suspect you do (and will) as well!

    Love you!
    LLH

  2. Anonymous says:

    I agree totally. WIshing you get all that you want and more!

    xoxoxo
    Sandy

  3. Wendy Treash says:

    I hope for both less and more. Less things and more moments, less discord unless it leads to more understanding or more harmony, less motion when the time requires stillness, more motion when things need to be pounced upon. More raison d’etre, less slug-on-the-couch. More computer as a tool, less computer as a time-filler. I wish us all more….and less!

    Wendy
    singingtotheword.wordpress.com

    • Beth says:

      I didn’t know you had a blog, Wendy – I’ll be following it now! And you’re so right. Simple is better. So the “more” we need should include more of less, indeed. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

