Outta here!

Today I’m heading south to Key West for Meeting of the Minds. It’s the annual Parrothead convention that I’ve gone to off and on for the last few years. I wasn’t going to go this year, but since I’ve started writing songs with trop rock artists, I’m hoping to get the word out that I’m available for lyric-writing gigs. I also couldn’t pass up the chance to see my musician friends, many of whom I haven’t seen in – well, forever. I’ll spend four days zooming from bar to bar, catching a set here and an hour there before dashing to the next venue. It’s a crazy weekend, and I’ll walk miles and miles before it’s over. But it’s one of the best weeks of the year, and I can’t wait. I’ll see old friends, listen to great music, have an adult beverage or two, and love visiting one of my favorite places on the planet.

My hotel has internet access, but I don’t plan to spend much time on the computer. I promise stories and pictures when I get back. I’ll post if I get the chance, but don’t be surprised if it doesn’t happen. Real life is going to interrupt my electronic life – which isn’t a bad thing.

If you’re coming down, you’ll find me at Willie T’s most evenings from 6-10, hanging out with my buddies Jimmy Parrish and the Ocean Waves Band. I’ll be selling their T-shirts and CDs, so stop by and buy something, and make me look good! And Saturday and Sunday from 1-5 with The Conch Fritters, also selling their merch. Otherwise you’ll find me at Kelly McGuire’s Lighthouse Court gig – unless I’m at Sloppy Joe’s watching Pete and Wayne, Hog’s Breath, the Smoking Tuna, Schooner Wharf – heck, I’ll be everywhere.

I have new friends from Vermont and Florida to find, old friends from Chicago and the Dark Side of the State of Florida, and maybe I’ll even meet some even newer friends!

I’ll be back late Monday, and will return with tales from my favorite island. One of these days, I’m gonna stay down there! Or on some island…but for now, color me gone.

While I’m gone, make sure to stop by – I’ll be sharing videos from some of the musicians I’m seeing down there, so you can feel like you’re there. Well, without the alcohol and crazy people…

Have a great week/weekend!

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

