Weekend ho!

Did you see the baseball game last night?! Holy cow!!

Busy busy busy. I’m like a flippin’ bee. Wednesday I actually stayed home all day – well, except for walking over to the exercise room to watch Mike and Mike while I treadmilled in the morning. It was nice to not have to go anywhere – especially knowing that the coming days are going to be pretty crazy.

I made up for it Thursday, though. I spent the morning doing house chores before my friend Deb came over to check out my cozy condo (and take pictures!). Then we had a delicious Thai lunch before she went to work, and I came home to nap before book club. (Well, I didn’t intend to nap…it snuck up on me.) Wine and munchies (is it okay to have dessert FOR dinner?) and in-depth book discussion with amazing women – I made a few new friends, and look forward to hanging out with a couple of crazy single women soon. Then I got a wild hair (I’m never sure if it’s a hair or a hare – a wild one of either is a little disconcerting) and headed up to Jax to see my friend Barry play the pans (read: steel drums) at Bahama Breeze. I hadn’t seen him for a few weeks so it was great to sit back and listen to live music – heaven forbid I go a whole week without listening to my friends play music!

Anyway, we chatted and caught up, and he told me all about the new Conch Fritters CD – I helped write the lyrics on one of the songs and can’t wait to hear it, plus add another CD with my name on it to my collection! I was watching the baseball game with one eye, and thought it was over when I left, so was surprised to see that it was still on when I got home, and caught the incredible ending. Game 7, tonight!

Thursday was a great lead-in to the weekend. Today I have a hair appt, then lunch with a writer I’ve just met, then Friday Wine Down (it’s Tim’s Wine Store’s third anniversary, so this week’s wine tasting should be festive). Then Jimmy and the boys are playing one of their rare gigs in St. Augustine, and a couple of friends are joining me to check out my favorite guys. I’m also hoping the 7th game of the World Series will be on a TV somewhere in the bar.

Unfortunately, I don’t have any work for the weekend, which is worrisome. But since I can’t do anything about it, I’m not going to think about it…too much.

I don’t have any concrete plans for the weekend, although I’m sure there’s lots going on being Halloween and all. More of Tim’s anniversary party most of Saturday afternoon. I’ve been invited to cruise the town with a new friend from book club, but it requires wearing a costume, something that ranks right up there with parallel parking in my book. Sunday is football, of course. The Gators are playing Saturday afternoon (yes, I drank the Kool-Aid and am now rooting for Florida teams – folks in Hell are wearing winter coats). There’s football on Sunday, dontcha know. And who knows what I’m forgetting…

And I’m going to be getting ready to head to Key West on Wednesday for Meeting of the Minds. I have so many new musician friends to see down there this year, plus selling merchandise for some of them, plus seeing friends I haven’t seen in forever – not to mention just being in Key West for a few days, one of my favorite places on the planet. My writer friend Randy from Chicago is going to be in town for the weekend, and I haven’t seen him since – egads, 2007? We have lots of catching up to do! Anyway, I need to start packing, and wrapping up the condo to be gone for a week – heck, wrapping up my regular life to ignore it for a week because I can’t imagine staring at my laptop screen with Key West outside my window!

Anyway, that’s what’s up with me. I hope your weekend is filled with fun – I’d hate to be the only one having a blast!

I’ll check in before I leave for Key West – and if I find the time, will line up some posts to entertain you while I’m gone. In the meantime, TGIF, y’all!

This entry was posted in Everyday life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

