Troy Allan – My Gift from You

I was listening to music yesterday, as I usually do, and this song came on my iPod.

Troy Allan was my friend. The last time I saw him was on a road trip to Texas in February 2010. He had had surgery as part of his fight with cancer, and his parents had been taking care of him. But he wanted to be back in his own place, and had just returned that day. I carried his groceries up from his truck, and we hung out and talked about music and life, and his plans for the future. The instruments he was going to learn to play, the exercise machine he was going to start working out on to get his six-pack abs back. And he told me about the girl in his life, and how great she was.

So when I looked for this song on YouTube, I found this video. And this must be her. It feels kind of weird, peeking into a stranger’s life through her pictures. But there are lots of Troy, and it’s great to see him when he was still healthy. And nice to know who he wrote the song for.

We lost him in November 2010. He remains an inspiration to me and many others, in how he lived life to the fullest, to the last possible second, chasing his dreams. When I waste a day, I feel guilty, knowing that Troy would like to have that day back. And he wouldn’t have wasted it

Anyway, sit back and enjoy the voice of an angel. Maybe someday someone will sing a song like that for me.

Sail on, Troy. I miss you.

This entry was posted in Friends, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Troy Allan – My Gift from You

  1. Anonymous says:

    Oh Beth, That just made me cry! An amazing person that Troy was and we were all better people having him be a part of our life.
    Sandy

    • Beth says:

      You’re so right, Sandy. I was so proud to call him my friend, and miss him every day. I know he’s looking down on us, and try to do my best to make him proud of me. I wonder if he knows how big of an impact he had – and still has – on so many people. Thanks for commenting!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

