Flip Flop Sunday

So Sunday was the last Flip Flop Sunday of 2011. It’s basically an excuse for a party every other Sunday at Billy’s Boat House in Jacksonville, where Jimmy Parrish and the Ocean Waves Band play for their fans – who apparently are called Parrishheads! We dance, we drink, we laugh, and we sing under the stars.

As regular readers might have noticed, I’ve become quite a fan of the band, and they have made me feel like a member of the family. The last two FFSs were rained out, so we’d been going through withdrawal. So folks turned out in record numbers for the last gig of the season.

And what a night it was. It was cool, but dancing warmed me up. In fact, I danced my butt off for the first time in years, and had a blast. The music was great, as always. Jimmy was in rare form, considering he showed up 1/2 hour late (how does a guitar player forget his guitar?). Dusty (lead guitar) has been working on a CD for his latest venture, The Conch Fritters (who will be debuting in Key West next week – come see Dusty and Barry at Willie T’s before Jimmy and the band play – I’ll be the one selling CDs and T-shirts!), so I think he enjoyed the break from mixing. Richard (bass player) was in rare form. And Eric (drums) lent his percussion and rapping skills.

Anyway, it was one of the best nights I’ve had in a long time. But Flip Flop Sunday is now over for 2011 – I guess the locals think it’s too cold to listen to music outside (wimps). Luckily there are still gigs scheduled – this Friday is at Hurricane Patty’s here in St. Augustine, so I don’t have to drive ALL THE WAY (read 1/2 hour) to Jacksonville to hear my guys play. And then I’ll be hanging out with them in Key West during Meeting of the Minds.

I don’t know if I can stand having this much fun…

For those of you not lucky enough to be FL, here’s yet another video of them playing one of my favorite songs, Chasing This Dream. Close your eyes and pretend you were there with us on Sunday!

This entry was posted in Everyday life, Friends, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

