Control

I hate waiting. I hate waiting for something to happen over which I feel I have very little control. Although I think in some instances, whether or not one has control is directly related to one’s attitude. You can lie down and let a situation roll over you, or you can stand up and fight. So maybe control is all in your mind, after all…

Hence, while I wait, I am practicing a confident, positive demeanor. I DO have something to say about this situation – I just have to believe that my opinion counts, or at least believe that maybe I’ll be able to sway the final decision. And I’m trying to remember that while sometimes we can’t control what happens, we can control how we react to it. And in the end, maybe that will also influence the ultimate outcome.

Have I confused you yet? It’s just that something looms that I’m pretty nervous about. It will influence my life in the coming months, and I have no idea how it’s going to turn out. I fluctuate wildly between pessimism and cautious optimism, and wish that I knew which way the wind was going to blow. That’s when I remind myself that I don’t have to be a pawn, but can do my best to influence any decision that’s being made.

Sorry for being so obtuse, but I think the concept could apply in a lot of situations where you feel like you don’t have any control over something, when you actually do. Even if you can’t influence the outcome, you have control over how you react to it. In the end, you control how every situation affects you. You can choose to be upset or thrilled; you can refuse to accept the outcome, or accept it and figure out how to best make it suit your needs.

Anyway, today I’m waiting and hoping that, for a change, things go my way. I’m not asking for much – and isn’t it my turn to grab the brass ring?

Wish me luck, and please send positive, “Beth wins” thoughts. Thankyouverymuch.

This entry was posted in Deep thoughts, Everyday life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Control

  1. A says:

    Hi Beth,

    I want to apply for a job on the MV Explorer but wanted to find out some details about the reality of life on board first. I have worked on a ship in the past but now I have a family and want to bring them with me. I have a school ages son and husband (who I hope could work on the ship, as well). Is there a school program on board for dependant children? What about children’s activities? What do the staff cabins look like? How realistic is it to bring a kid with me? I really hope that you will reply to this. I would sincerely appreciate some insight from an insider. Thanks in advance. – A

  2. FARfetched says:

    Sounds a little like the Serenity Prayer. 😉

  3. Gary Calahan says:

    To A,

    Perhaps I am missing the point as I am just dropping in on the post. It appears as though you are trying to bring your family into your dream of living aboard a boat?

    If so, having lived aboard sailboats for 23 years of my life, I may have an opinion that could help.

    I lived aboard a beautiful sailboat with my now ex for over 9 years. She was open to the idea and several years later, we had our first child. My daughter leaned too walk on the boat and has fond memories of marina life after 21 years. My son was born 5 years later after my daughter. The movies, memories and pictures are priceless.

    We built a beautiful home in Vilano Beach where they still live. My ex wanted to sell the boat and buy a bigger sailboat. Does that give you any insight??

    G

  4. Gary Calahan says:

    Hi Beth!
    I have often been told “It is what it is.” and find myself sharing this thought with you. What you don’t have control over should not be your focus or consume your life. Optimism, positive thoughts and confidence that you will persevere are paramount. I do believe positive thoughts and energy foster positive outcomes

    BTW….we met briefly at SunTrust Chamber meeting. I enjoyed meeting you!

    Gary

  5. Deb D. says:

    “Dwell in possibility.”
    — Emily Dickinson

Leave a Reply

