Exploring my new home town

I’m sitting in my office with a cool breeze blowing through the windows. The sky is blue, not a cloud in the sky, and squirrels are scurrying across the driveway, their cheeks stuffed with acorns that are falling from the oak trees sprinkled throughout the complex. A quiet Friday morning in The Nation’s Oldest City.

I continue to be slammed with work, but since my friend Liane will smack me if I don’t find balance in my life, I’ve been trying to take time to play a little. On Wednesday evening I met my friend Careen, a neighbor from when I lived here a couple of years ago, and we had drinks at the Tini Martini Bar, one of the few places I’ve actually BEEN in St. Augustine. It’s a very cool place, a bar in a bed and breakfast on the harbor. Propane tiki torches, a wraparound porch scattered with tables and chairs, and a very small cozy bar paneled in dark wood. We sipped our drinks (a Cosmo for me!) and caught up on the two years since we’ve seen each other, as the horse-drawn carriages clip-clopped along the waterfront.

Thursday afternoon I actually spent an hour by the pool. Decadent? Yes. But it’s one of the perks of working at home. One of the other less-attractive aspects of working at home is that the work is always there, so it’s way too easy to sit hunched over my desk from 5am til midnight, with very few breaks, since no one’s turning off the lights or locking the doors. And I do that WAY too often. So I justified taking an hour off to warm my bones and work on my tan in the Florida sun.

Thursday evening I had beers on the patio with my friend Jimmy, then we went downtown for dinner at Harry’s. We sat in the walled courtyard under huge leafy trees with white twinkly lights woven around the trunks and through the branches, listened to live music (a guy with a guitar, my favorite) and ate stellar Cajun food (I hear my leftover shrimp and grits calling me from the fridge as I type). I even had a glass of Washington chardonnay, and didn’t feel so far away from home.

Tonight is my weekly stint as Wine Wench at Tim’s Wine Market’s Friday Wine Down, their happy (two) hour wine tasting event. But until then, I’ll spend the day working.

Not sure what my plans are for the weekend. There’s a community garage sale in my condo complex that I might peruse. I believe there’s a literary agent in town at a writing event, but I haven’t had time to do any research into it. Football on Sunday, even though my Broncos have a bye week. Most likely a baseball game on TV. And there will be work to do, as always. Somewhere in there I might try to get to the pool again, or the beach, or – well, who knows what will come up. All I know is, I’m trying to find balance. And I’m having a great time in my new home town!

I hope you have a stellar weekend – I plan to! And now, I’m off to find those leftovers…

This entry was posted in Everyday life, Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

