Fall in the air

A cold front swept in on Friday night, and we woke to 65 degree temps on Saturday morning.

It was heaven. It was almost intoxicating, walking outside at 5:30am and feeling a change in the air. It was far from cold, or even cool. But it was – fresh. It felt less sticky, less oppressive, less heavy. I almost felt like dancing, or singing, just reveling in the change in the weather. I know it’ll probably get hot again, but this was a nice taste of what’s to come.

I’m dog-sitting this weekend, and as I walked the dogs last night I noticed that a lot of houses had their windows open, I dashed home yesterday morning and opened mine, to air out the stale air-conditioned air in the condo. I opened my window at my friends’ house, and listened to the crickets or cicadas or tree frogs or whatever they are, chirp all night. My new home is on a marsh, so I’m looking forward to hearing what kinds of critters will sing to me at night this fall.

It’s days like these that get us through the Florida summers. Like Idaho winters, or Texas summers. The weather is rough for three months in most places – you just have to choose what kind of bad weather you can tolerate. I’d much rather deal with a hot car than icy roads, which is why I’m here and not in Idaho.

We’re entering the halcyon days of fall in NE Florida, and I can’t wait. I’ve always loved fall – the colors, the crisp air, hot apple cider and fires crackling on the hearth – but since fall means that winter is around the corner, the season is usually colored with dread for me. Which is why I live down here now, instead of up there. But I do miss those things. I guess I could head north a few hours, and get a better taste of fall.

AFTER my furniture arrives on Tuesday!

Enjoy your fall weather, wherever you are. Do some leaf-peeping for me – preferably with a cup of hot cider!

This entry was posted in Everyday life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fall in the air

  1. Brancy says:

    It’s definitely a wonderful time of year and thankfully we had some really hot and smokey days in September so this cooler weather is very welcome even though as you said, it is the prelude to winter *shudders*. Actually, most winters up here are pretty dang tolerable but that ice factor does suck! Especially when I had to take 41 to work everyday! I much prefer my new route, which has no ditches and drop offs! I love the seasons, but my next major move is going to be the Oregon Coast! All the seasons, without the snow…and the beach….especially the radical rocky shores and wild waves of the Northwest shores!

    • Beth says:

      I sure agree about the Oregon Coast – have wanted to move there for years. Maybe just spending a few weeks there will suffice – or visiting you, once you move there! Enjoy fall in the northwest!

  2. Julie says:

    It’s funny that you say you dread the coming of Fall, because I have the 180 reception to it, having lived in a place that is humid and hot, usually unrelentlessly, for 6 months of the year. I so look forward to Fall’s crisp, cool, non-humid air that breezes around me and carries the smoke of woodfires on the currents. I breathe the scent in, and always have a primordial human feeling to our friend/foe fire. Fall and WInter have always been my favorite seasons in that locale. Now that I have spent the last 2 months in places where I need no AC, and have windows open every day, I still give thanks that I can have this experience everyday, now. (At least until it gets really cold, maybe! 😉 ) But, they tell me Winters aren’t that bad here… good for a re-located Southerner to deal with. 🙂

    • Beth says:

      I only dread fall because it means winter’s coming, Julie. I love the season otherwise! For all of the reasons you mention. I hope this winter isn’t too rough on you in your new home! Enjoy the fall for me, down here in the Land of Eternal Summer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

