Waving at September in the rear view mirror

Fall in North Idaho

September, gone? Really? Where in the HECK did it go? Where all good months go, to that big Recycle Bin in the sky, I guess. And it was a good month. If every month could go as the last half of this one has, I would bore my readers with eternal posts on how simply stellar my life is.

Yes, Beth is riding the top of her life wave. Hang in there; I’m sure in a few days I’ll be back on less enthusiastic ground. It’s a vicious cycle, ain’t it? I don’t know how you keep up with my constant switchbacks, from “life is wonderful!” to “life is so hard,” from “I’m doing everything right!” to “why in the heck do I do what I do?” You’d think I’d get dizzy, riding that pendulum.

But there’s a saying about having to experience the lows to appreciate the highs. And in the end, I doubt there’s anyone whose life is a constant low – or high. At least, I sure hope there’s not. If you can’t find joy in a sunrise, a wriggling puppy, a smiling friend, a good glass of wine, or the arms of a caring man (or woman), then you need a session with Lucy (5 cents please). And I urge you to look deeper for the joy that’s in (almost) every situation – sometimes you just have to look a little harder.

Anyway, September has been a month of change, in a life of change. But hopefully I’m making the right moves to stay put for a while. Someone said something about “fake it until you make it” recently, and I’m tweaking it to suit my needs. I’m the only person who can control whether I stay or leave, and if I act like I’m staying, maybe it’ll stick this time.

Yesterday I walked past a woman in a beautiful flowing outfit, and I just had to tell her how pretty she looked. She thanked me, and told me she had just moved here from Miami on Sunday, and was trying to find her way around. I welcomed her, and she glowed. As we parted ways, I hoped she felt a little easier about leaving her home and moving up here – and patted myself on the back for acting like a nice, welcoming local. Maybe it made her day. It sure made mine!

And it reminded me of walking through Key West a year ago. A couple of women stopped me to ask directions to the Hemingway House. I was headed to Lighthouse Court (my afternoon home during Meeting of the Minds, where my friend Kelly McGuire hosts a bunch of my other musician friends from 2-5 every day; it’s peaceful and laid back and the best part of MOTM – well, the second best part. This year the best part will be hanging with Jimmy Parrish and the Ocean Waves Band at Willie T’s every evening from 6-10 ).

I gave them a bunch of information as we walked, and I realized they were cruise passengers trying to squeeze a week of Key West into a few hours. At one point they asked if I lived there, and I had to admit that I didn’t. They were impressed with my knowledge of the town, and as they walked away I realized I DO know a lot about the town. I would live there, if I could afford it. But since I can’t, I’ll just continue to discover its secrets whenever I’m down there, and look forward to each visit.

Boy, THAT was quite a tangent…

I guess where I was heading with that was just feeling at home in a place, whatever “home” is. And as I try to sink roots into St. Augustine, it’s the people here who will help me decide whether to stay or leave. And right now, I’m meeting stellar people (to add to my already stellar friends here!), and can see living among them for a long time.

So September was a great start to my new life in St.A. Wish me luck that I find enough reasons to stick around – at least most of the time!

Join me in ending September on a high note – I’m spending the day with one of my new friends, and it promises to be a stellar evening. And rumor has it the weather is supposed to cool down to the 70’s this weekend – I might be able to open the windows!

Happy fall, y’all. And thanks to the Time Gods for one of the best Septembers ever.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Waving at September in the rear view mirror

  1. Brancy says:

    St. Augustine seems like a very interesting city (from the two hours I spent there once) and I would totally retire there because it’s home to something I am going to need on a daily basis, the Fountain of Youth! = )

  2. LH says:

    Well, well, well….You have my undivided attention when you care to share moooooorrreeee!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

