Thursday update

(I wanted to call it “Weekend Update,” after the classic Saturday Night Live piece, but it’s not the weekend, and I didn’t want to wait that long so….humor me.)

Just in case you’re wondering what I’m up to these days, here’s a brief rundown.

You know I saw Jimmy Parrish and the Ocean Waves Band on Friday and Saturday nights. (If you don’t believe me, check out the picture!) But you probably don’t know that on Friday from 5-7pm I poured wine at Wine Down at Tim’s Wine Market, my usual Friday gig. AND had dinner with Jerry and Kathy, friends from MD who also have a place down here. I hadn’t seen them for a year, so we had lots of catching up to do. It’s always great to see old friends!

Saturday I watched the first half of the Boise State game with Michael and Kathryn before heading to Hurricane Patty’s for the show. (BSU won quite handily, thankyouverymuch. Can you say BCS championship?)

Sunday I didn’t do much of anything constructive, which means my mood kind of tanked. I have to keep busy to keep myself from thinking too much…

Monday I drove to Gainesville and spent the day with my college buddy Shel and her kids, and their friends. We lounged in the pool and chatted while watching nasty storm clouds cruise by overhead (thank you Tropical Storm Lee). Eventually Lee rewarded us with a brief shower, but when you’re already wet, who cares? Shel cooked up a HUGE carnivorous feast with 4,000 kinds of BBQed meat (okay, maybe only five or six) and yummy desserts, then we promised to get together again soon and I trekked back across the state.

Tuesday I started the day with a quick walk around the neighborhood, dodging between raindrops (more of Lee), before heading into St Augustine. I drove miles and miles and miles, checking out condominium complexes as I search for my winter abode. I’ve been checking craigslist and the local paper and every website I can find, looking for that perfect rental. I really dislike house-hunting, so hopefully I’ll find a place soon – the perfectionist in me has to look at EVERYTHING before making a decision (see earlier post about always thinking there’s something better), so it’s a grueling process.

Wednesday I felt the need for a road trip and some Trop Rock, so drove to Orlando to listen to Sunny Jim play at Downtown Disney. It was great to see him, and have the chance to sit back and enjoy music from the Nicest Man in Trop Rock. My friends Dave and Carolyn stopped by unexpectedly, so we had a great afternoon listening to James and catching up. I had an appointment to look at an apartment in StA so had to leave way too soon, but the timing might have been pretty good: the skies opened as I hit the highway, so I missed being drenched. I did NOT miss rush hour in Orlando, however, which I sorta kinda forgot about. But I had Jimmy Parrish and the OWB in the CD player, so that kept me sane as I played in traffic.

Today I’m back on the road to Cocoa Beach to meet Hope, my forever friend from the Seattle area (we met in the 9th grade, and have been friends ever since). She’s visiting her mom this week, so we’re meeting 1/2way between there and here for a quick lunch and catch-up session. Then the first NFL football game of the 2011 season is tonight, so I’ll be joining Michael to watch that – and since he’s a Saints fan, you can bet I’ll be rooting for the Packers! Makes it a lot more fun…

Friday is Wine Down and dinner with Doug and Liane, and hopefully deciding on a home for the winter. No plans for Saturday, although I’m sure something will come up. And Sunday is football, of course, and more JP and the OWB in Jax Beach.

I’m also querying agents again, trying to find representation for my novels. I still haven’t ruled out self-publishing and ebooks but this is what’s familiar to me right now, so it’s the path I’m choosing until I come up with a different plan.

And some good news – it looks like my online job is going to pick up again soon, so that’s a relief. Plus two other companies are interested in having me contract with them. And one of these days, I’d like to try being a bartender again.

There’s also book club, a couple of Meet Up groups that I’ve joined, writers’ groups, a women’s networking group that I’ve been invited to, and writing lyrics for a few Trop Rockers. Oh yes, and putting together books from my old blog.

So you see, I’ve been keeping busy.

I’m looking forward to getting settled in a new place – well, as soon as I figure out how to get my furniture from Phoenix to Florida. I swear I’m going to sell everything…

Anyway, I hope you have fun plans for the weekend. You can see that I do!

Life is good.

This entry was posted in Everyday life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thursday update

  1. LH says:

    Uhmmmm….blahblahblah YOUWILLNOTBEROOTINGFORTHEPACKERS blahblahblah…. 😛

Leave a Reply

