The present is a gift

(According to the Genius Bar at the Apple store, the display on my Mac is starting to die. Hopefully it will take a long time to do that, but it’s inevitable. I guess that gives me time to think about what I’m going to do about it. Maybe the Computer Gods are telling me to spend less time online and more time out in the real world. Whaddyathink?)

Nothing lasts forever. (Well, I guess death does.) Okay, almost nothing lasts forever. Although some things seem like they do, like boring lectures and driving across South Dakota. On the other hand, some things should last forever but don’t, like clean houses and dyed hair. And good times.

Have you ever had a day that you wished would never end? Where you floated through every moment with a smile on your face, amazed and grateful that you were there? I’ve had a few days like that, times where I had to continually remind myself to enjoy every second, to revel in the sheer pleasure of being there, because all too soon it would be over.

I have a bad habit of looking ahead, forgetting to enjoy what’s directly in front of me. But on those perfect days, I force myself to be in the present, to not waste one second thinking about how sad I’ll be when it’s over.

And once it IS over, I try to remember every moment (that’s when I wish I still kept a journal). I relive every part of that day, smiling over the joy it brought. Of course I wish I could repeat that day – and maybe someday I will. But for now, all I can do is look back and be grateful that it happened, and draw on those good memories to sustain me through the not-so-good times.

I had a couple of those days recently. And I’m still smiling. I’m also trying not to think about how long it will be until I have a day like that again. For now, I’m enjoying the gift.

Wishing you a day as perfect as mine were…

This entry was posted in Deep thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The present is a gift

  1. Warren says:

    Lovely. And this coming from a guy whose recent days have certainly forced him to live in the present…whether good (sometimes) or bad (most times, lately). 🙂

  2. Beth says:

    Sorry about the bad times, Warren. Hopefully your good times can sustain you through them. Glad you liked it, anyway. I’ll send some of my good vibes your way….hang in there.

  3. If things haven’t changed, you can take a mac to any Apple store and for about a $300.00 flat fee they’ll send it off to the factory for a complete refurb that fixes anything that’s broken and then mail it to you. Last time I had it done they replaced motherboard, keyboard, and hard drive. At the time it was around 265.00 flat rate and the only reason I found out about it was because I had very helpful person at the genius bar. You might want to ask about it.

    • Beth says:

      Thanks Kelly! The Genius Bar person DID say something about a $280 fee, but I wasn’t sure what she meant. You’ve explained it perfectly. Thanks! I’ll sure keep it in mind once the display dies…

  4. Brancy says:

    That sounds a lot like something I would write after spending the day with my kids or the love of my life! Just wish I would that feel that way more about other aspects of my life. You’ve got me thinking here Beth, I just love that your writing inspires me to do that!

    • Beth says:

      You’re too sweet, Nancy. Thanks for reading, and I’m glad my thoughts make you think – especially if it means you’ll find more things to be happy about! 🙂

  5. Debby says:

    hi beth,

    i’m a lurker and and enjoy reading about your adventures. i have a question. would you tell me more about your job? i’m looking for something i can do at home and what you do sounds ideal. my email’s below if you prefer to make this private.

    debby
    tnequestrienne@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

