Pictures!

(I’m in Cleveland tonight, on my way to Troy, NY to spend a delightful evening with Richard and Maureen. They have promised food, hot tub, room, laundry, and boat drinks – not necessarily in that order.) (My next post will talk about my trip to Chicago – stay tuned!)

As promised, pictures!

This is the Great Platte River Road Archway that stretches across I-80 near Kearney, NE. I didn’t know that it’s also a museum – I just thought it was an interesting landmark in the middle of nowhere. It always surprises me when I see it in the distance, and grab my camera as I zoom under it.

We took a walk on the Katy Trail, an old riverbed that runs next to the Missouri River.

.

.

.

.

.

The algae in the swamp next to the trail looked like a gelatin carpet. I didn’t have the nerve to actually climb down and touch it, but I like to think it’s solid.

The sign says “end of public use area” – DUH!

.

I stopped in Walt Disney’s home town of Marceline, MO because I’d heard that their Main Street was the model for the Disneyland Main Street USA. But I didn’t see any similarities, except it was a small town main street…

.

 

The court house in Fayette, as reflected in a window on the town square – I thought it looked really cool!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The Missouri was still overfull from the rains this spring, and was muddy, fast, and kinda scary…

This entry was posted in Travels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pictures!

  1. bajadock says:

    Thanks for the photos. Cleveland? I was born there, but, escaped after high school. Your road trip is a long one. Hope your adventures are thrilling.

  2. Brancy says:

    Oh that Katy trail looked magical and mystical and outrageously green, loved the shots! Can’t wait to hear about Chicago. From my limited experience of it, it’s always an adventure!

  3. Think we passed under the archway the day after you did.

    • Beth says:

      I saw you were in Omaha the night I was supposed to stay there, but detoured due to the flooding. Darn it! We might have actually met! 🙂 Hope you had a good trip.

Leave a Reply

