Sad goodbyes

Yesterday was my last day in Coeur d’Alene. It was a sad day, filled with way too many tearful farewells to good friends. I’m leaving too soon, which makes it even harder. Last year I was here 2+ months, and swore that I’d stay longer this year. But I only made it 5 weeks – no, math isn’t my strong point. But a series of circumstances resulted in my having to leave now, to fill a number of commitments.

I’ve barely settled back into the routine of summer in North Idaho. Barely gotten used to being around my friends again, finding time to spend with them and feel as though we’ve caught up on the year that’s passed since we were last together. Haven’t seen all the places I wanted to see, done all of the things I wanted to do, visited all of the people I wanted to visit.

But that’s moot, because today I leave. I was lucky to be here 5 weeks. The weather was gorgeous, my friends were wonderful, and I had a great time. I worked way too many hours and that cut into my time, which sucks – but it is what it is. I’ll have very little time to work in the next couple of weeks, so I guess it’s good I that worked extra hours when I had the work.

I’ve never wanted to lead two lives – or live one life in two places: you’re always missing something or someone. But things seem to be working toward that. As much as I DON’T want to be a snowbird, it seems that (at this point) that’s what I’m becoming. (There’s a bumper sticker in FL that says: If it’s snowbird season, why can’t we shoot them?)

Hopefully I’ll stumble onto the magic formula soon that will work for me, and I’ll find a lifestyle that suits me. I’d stay here forever if it wasn’t for winter. But then I’d miss my FL life…

My world is just too big.

Anyway, today I’m driving to Buffalo, WY. Tomorrow Marysville, KS. Then Fayette, MO for the weekend. Chicagoland after that then Troy, NY, then VT and NH. (Yes, I’m taking the scenic route to FL.) From there it’s a grueling trek to NC before I land in St Augustine. And at that point I’ll swear I never want to take a road trip again.

But we all know how THAT goes!

So if you get bored and want to make sure I’m awake, call me. I’ll welcome the distraction! And send me safe traveling wishes – these days I feel like a target on the highway (I was involved in a fender bender a couple of weeks ago, and it’s left me with a much healthier respect for the dangers of driving).

To all my CDA friends, thank you for welcoming me back into your lives when I pop in. This has been a fantastic 5 weeks. If I find myself back here next year, I’ll sure try to stay longer. I’m so lucky to have friends who accept me for who I am, and like me anyway. 🙂

I will miss you all so much. 😦 Enjoy the rest of the summer in God’s country…

I’ll be back as soon as I have internet access, stories to tell, and am awake enough after driving all day to post!

This entry was posted in Everyday life, Friends, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sad goodbyes

  1. Julie says:

    Well, Beth, it seems you have clearly told us here, the life you would like to have. You say you would like to spend Summers in CDA, as a base, and also as an anchor to the real place you feel is home. You also don’t want snowy, cold Winters. And, you have that second base in Florida with many friends. Very clear. Two spots to concentrate on. 🙂 Perhaps, with offshoot trips for your wanderlust, sprouting from each spot?

    My friends, who retired early, have an envious life that is centered around where they want to be at different times of the year. They Summer at their home outside a big city for boating activities during hot weather, they Winter in an apartment near ski areas, so they partake in 3 months of snow activities. Then, they have a condo rental during a month of high-wind Spring, so they can sail fast on the warmer south coast.

  2. Beth says:

    Sounds like your friends have the right idea – lucky them! Yes, two places would be nice. Finding one place to nest and travel from would be idea, too. Time will tell! 🙂

Leave a Reply

