Light at the end of the tunnel

So I THINK the Oprah project might be almost done. At least my work queue is empty for the first time in way over a week. That doesn’t mean that there isn’t someone out there still cranking away at the tapes but as of 10pm, I have no work.

Luckily another project did crop up, with the usual ASAP deadline, but at least it’s not the mind-numbing monotony of reviewing Oprah tapes. Now I’m not saying that Oprah is mind-numbing – just the process we were going through to review the tapes was. (Although I’m sure someone out there thinks Oprah is mind-numbing – since there isn’t a ball involved, I’ve never watched it long enough to form an opinion.)

Anyway, I’m continuing to find reasonable balance in my days. I’m still avoiding alcohol, although I DID drink part of a beer tonight at Lynne’s – we had a girls evening, complete with good food, great company, a fire in the fireplace, and watching the sun set from the hot tub. I still can’t face wine, but managed a little Blue Moon.

I also spent some time helping Kevin pick cherries from one of the trees in the back yard this morning, which was really rewarding – and delicious! That was AFTER my mammogram – I figured I deserved a little fun time after enduring that procedure. What a way to start the day!

Tomorrow is lunch with Amy, and dinner with friends. The Shutes Annual Summer Extravaganza is Saturday evening, although not being much of a party animal anymore, I’ll most likely visit for a bit and then retreat to my room and – you guessed it – work.

Last night I indulged in frozen yogurt for dinner, which was a bittersweet reminder of my time in Phoenix. That city is lousy with self-serve frozen yogurt chains, and we used to treat ourselves regularly to a cup. Coeur d’Alene has recently discovered the frozen yogurt craze, and I’ve been looking forward to trying out their version. It was yummy, but not nearly as much fun as eating it with someone.

It’s hard to believe I head east a week from today. I haven’t been here long enough, but I’m sorely feeling the need to have my own space again. If I find myself in a situation where I can return to CDA next summer, I’ll come earlier and stay later. Maybe I’ll even find a little RV, so I’ll have my own home-away-from-home!

But tonight I’m tired, and trying to believe that this massive project might truly be over. I’ll know in the morning. If it is, I might even have time to download pictures and share those with you…

Thanks for stopping – I’m off to bed. TGIF, y’all!

This entry was posted in Everyday life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Light at the end of the tunnel

  1. Julie in Texas says:

    Glad the overload of work has tapered off, Beth! Balance is a good thing. Trying to get some of that, myself, with much craziness on my end! 😉

    • Beth says:

      I see you’re still a night owl, though! 🙂 Yes, it seems to be slowing down a tad. I can imagine things are crazy in your world. Good luck with the packing and everything – I’ll look forward to hearing all about your new home!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

