Today was…stones

Some days are diamonds some days are stones
Sometimes the hard times won’t leave me alone
Sometimes a cold wind blows a chill in my bones
Some days are diamonds some days are stones. – John Denver

I guess we’re all allowed to have a down day now and then. This one threw up every obstacle it could think of – in fact, there’s been a lot of that this week. It was a day of complete frustration – I felt like I was spinning my wheels in mud, getting nowhere. By the end of it I wanted to cry, but couldn’t find the wherewithal.

Tomorrow will be better. I’m counting on it! I need to find my feet again, and my focus.

The diamond in this day of stones was lunch with Stacy, a friend who, although we only see each other once a year, remains an important part of my life. She’s everything I’m not – a loving mother, devoted wife, loyal employee. Has this neat orderly life that is an island of normalcy in the crazy sea of life. I bounce around like a ping pong ball, wondering if I’ll ever be as settled and content as she is. Hoping that in my next life, I come back as her.

Anyway, it’s past my bedtime. Hopefully tomorrow the world will ooze a little more lovingkindness onto everyone around me – and spare a wee bit for me, as well.

This entry was posted in Everyday life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Today was…stones

  1. YvonneB says:

    One of my very favorite John Denver songs!
    Tie a knot at the end of your rope and hang on.
    Let’s talk soon…….

  2. Anonymous says:

    Glad you are better today, Beth! I hope you find your “happy medium” lifestyle very soon. There has to be a situation for you where you can have some home base, yet still travel. A “pied a terre”. Maybe someplace in CDL that you could vacate for the Winter. Your base could have an area to store a Basecamp trailer by Airstream and take that along when you get an itch to see the sights! http://www.roamingtimes.com/rvreports/airstream-basecamp-small-travel-trailer.aspx

    • Beth says:

      What a cute home away from home! I haven’t given up on that concept. Making plans step by step. There’s got to be a happy medium somewhere. Thanks!! 🙂

  3. Julie inTexas says:

    Anon is ME! 🙂

Leave a Reply

