Circle Dance

I’ve heard this song before, but listened to the lyrics for the first time tonight.

This is a Bonnie Raitt song, but I found this video on YouTube and the woman’s voice is so pure, I thought I’d use their version. This is Mike Hamill and Katie Fitter. They have a page on MySpace, but it hasn’t been updated in a while. I hope they’re still out there playing somewhere, because this is beautiful.

Words like this make me yearn to get back to writing.

Circle Dance – Bonnie Raitt

I don’t know why it should be so hard
Givin’ up this circle dance
Worn out steps from long ago
Don’t give love a chance

It’s a bitter heirloom handed down
These twisted parts we play
I’m not her and you’re not him
Just comes out that way

Can’t go back to make things right
Though I wish I’d understood
Time has made things clearer now
We did the best we could

“I’ll be home soon”, that’s what you’d say
And a little kid believes
After a while I learned that love
Must be a thing that leaves

I tried so hard just to hold you near
Was as good as I could be
Even when I had you here
You stayed so far from me

Can’t go back to make things right
Though I wish I’d understood
Time has made things clearer now
You did the best you could

Now that this has occurred to me
But I wanted you know
Been too faithful all my life
It’s time to let you go

Time has made things clearer now
It’s time to let you go
Time to let you go

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

