Weekend round-up

And they're off!

So I was NOT inspired to sign up at the last minute for Ironman, and spend my Sunday running, swimming and biking my way 140.6 miles around Coeur d’Alene. I DID watch the athletes run, swim and bike their way around CDA, though. Starting at 5:45am, when Ali and I headed into town, found a parking spot not TOO far from the lake, and squeezed through the throngs of spectators (who were there really early this year) to position ourselves in a prime spot to watch the start of the swim. Amy, a friend who I sailed around the world with a few years back, wanted to see the race, so we staked out a spot and I explained the ins and outs to her as the athletes braved the 54 degree water for 2.4 miles. It’s my favorite part of the race, because you can see all of the competitors at one time, and watch the entire race. It was as exciting and thrilling as I remember, from the frothy start (think 2500 swimmers all competing for the same patch of water) to the heartbreaking finish, when race officials have to tell folks who’ve been swimming their hearts out for over two hours that they didn’t meet the deadline, and their race is over for the year. One woman sobbed into the arms of a volunteer, and my heart broke all over again as I watched her dream die. Next year. Next year.

The rest of the day I watched parts of the bike and the run with Ali and Amy, dashed home to nap in the sun, returned to watch folks finishing, and then called it quits around dinnertime. As much as I enjoy watching the last runners cross the line at midnight, I didn’t have it in me to return to town a third time, find parking for a third time, and battle the crowds any longer. But all in all it was a great day, and the athletes fell in love with Coeur d’Alene, as most folks do after spending a few days here.

Bell Bay, Lake Coeur d'Alene

Backing up, on Saturday I drove up the lake to Bell Bay campground to spend the afternoon with good friends, chatting and laughing and drinking margaritas and catching up. The weather was perfect, the scenery stunning, and the company beyond compare. It’s good to be home.

And now life falls into regular patterns. Doctors appointments, drinks and lunch and coffee and breakfast with friends, shopping and walking and catching up. And working, of course. We have a project that requires us to do 15,000 hours of work in 240 hours…no, don’t bother counting on your fingers and toes, it’s probably not going to happen. But I’ll do my part. So if I disappear for a few days, you’ll know where I’ll be – huddled in a corner gazing at my laptop screen trying to, once again, achieve the impossible.

I’m spending a lot of time thinking, too. About the future, and the present, what is and what will be. Hopefully soon I’ll have answers to the questions that are keeping me thinking these days. Or at least if not answers, some insight.

Anyway, have a great week! I hope you have fun plans for the holiday weekend. I fear I’ll be tied to my laptop, although hopefully I’ll find time to watch a few fireworks…

This entry was posted in Everyday life, Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

