Redwoods and beaches and wine country, oh my!

Greetings from the Oregon Coast, one of my favorite places on the planet. I said a sad goodbye to Adrienne and left Alameda at dawn’s crack to beat the traffic, and found myself in Sonoma County before I could say “cabernet sauvignon.” Unfortunately it was 8am, so way too early for wine tasting, doggone it. Bad timing on my part! Then again, I’m not sure wine tasting and driving 10 hours are a good combination.

Anyway, I spent a couple of hours winding through wine country, with vineyards stretching as far as the eye could see, creeping up the hills and dipping into the valleys. It was stunning, and a welcome change from the desert and the dry interior of the state. Then vineyards gave way to the redwoods as I headed north on 101. I stopped a few times to take pictures of the trees and walk among the silent giants – there’s something so peaceful and serene about the redwoods. Someday I’ll spend more than a 1/2 hour in their company.

And after the redwoods – the coast. 101 twists and turns along the coast, sometimes hugging the shoreline and sometimes wandering through verdant fields and forests. I stopped often to snap pictures and listen to the waves crashing on the beaches – there were gale warnings all along the coast, so the waves were spectacular. I could picture sitting in a little RV parked next to a beach, ignoring the “no camping” signs…

Eventually I arrived in Coos Bay, after 10+ hours of driving. At least I didn’t sleep through the entire day, although by the end I was ready to be out of the car. But after a few minutes at the hotel, it was back in the car and off to the beach for a fish and chips dinner at the Sea Basket and to watch the sunset at, of course, Sunset Beach.

Now I’m unwinding, getting ready for sleep. Tomorrow it’s more coast driving, then a night with cousins I haven’t seen in forever. Family time! Then home to Idaho on Saturday.

I did take a quick break at noon in Eureka, CA at a coffee shop for an online meeting, and drank enough coffee that, as my mother would have said, my teeth were floating. 🙂 But otherwise it was a long day in the car.

Oh, the Folgers jingle contest finals were today and unfortunately, we didn’t win. I’m just thrilled our song made it as far as it did, and it sounds like John and John had fun in the Big City. Guess I can go back to drinking real coffee now! (Okay, I admit it, I don’t drink Folgers.)

Anyway, more pictures and stories once I land in Coeur d’Alene! TGTF, y’all!

This entry was posted in Sunsets, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Redwoods and beaches and wine country, oh my!

  1. Julie says:

    Even if you’re on the road, at least it is in beautiful scenery! 🙂 Love these photos! Safe travels.

    • Beth says:

      Thanks Julie! Yes, I’ve been traveling through some gorgeous places. Thankfully I have the pictures to prove it! And to share with you…

  2. Shurl says:

    You know I’m jealous! The pictures are spectacular and thank you for sharing them with me last night. It’s always nice to see home even if I can’t be there. Any wonder they call it Sunset Beach?! Oh, the stories I could tell….

    Have a safe and wonderful rest of your trip and enjoy every minute of it! BTW… you deserve BIG CONGRATS on the Folgers jingle! You did a most excellent job with the lyrics. Making Top 5 out of thousands of entries is pretty darned cool if you ask me!! Personally… I never drink Folgers either. (Stupid Kara!)

    Tavel safe!

    • Beth says:

      I’ll look forward to the stories, Shurl! And it was nice to share your hometown with you, even from a distance. And thanks for the kind words about my co-writing the jingle – it was fun being a part of it, even if we didn’t win the big prize. Top five was an achievement!

      Talk toon!

  3. Cindy Papken says:

    Beautiful country, Beth, and your pics are great. Robert and I were in Sonoma Valley for a week in November for the first time. We loved it. Korbel now sends us three bottles every two months 🙂

    • Beth says:

      I went to Korbel the last time I was in Sonoma, Cindy – how generous of them to send you samples! 🙂 It sure is pretty country. Almost as nice as Maine! 🙂

Leave a Reply

