Pete and Repeat

Just stopping in to say I’m still working too many hours. The paycheck will be nice, but I’m exhausted. No time to do much more than sleep a few hours, grab a bowl of cereal, and continue working. Hopefully today I’ll be able to slack off a little bit, as one project ends and the next begins.

Friday night I gave myself a well-deserved present. Two of my musician friends, Mark Mulligan and Kelly McGuire, were in town for a benefit concert. So I drove an hour south to Casa Grande and spent the evening listening to great music and hanging out with friends.

It reminded me of how far I’ve gotten from following my own dreams. I don’t even have time to write in this blog any more, let alone write songs or books. I definitely have to get some balance back in my life. Kelly and Mark have been following their dreams for years, and spending time with them inspired me to do the same.

So hopefully I’ll find the energy to start putting words on paper again, and try to work 12-hour days instead of 20. I feel like a hamster on a wheel, spinning and spinning, yet going nowhere. It’s nice to pay bills, but if you spend all of your time doing something you don’t really enjoy just to pay those bills, there’s a problem.

Anyway, it was great to see Kelly and Mark. It was nice to do something besides sit in front of my computer. And it’s good to be reminded that life is about more than work and paying bills.

Check their schedules – if either of the guys are playing in your town, stop by to see them. I guarantee you won’t be disappointed! And be sure to tell them that Beth sent you!

Me, I’ll be working. But hopefully some of those hours will be spent putting words on paper.

Enjoy your Sunday! I plan to spend at least part of the day with family, part taking care of chores around the house, and part sleeping…

Maybe I’ll even find time for frozen yogurt!

This entry was posted in Everyday life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pete and Repeat

  1. Julie says:

    Too late I saw that Kelly McGuire was teaming up with one of my favs, Shake Russell, at a very local venue here, last week! 😦 I see he will return next month, when we are busy with a family event, as well. Pretty cool to see one of your friends playing in my town, Beth! 🙂 Glad you got some time off, and hopefully all this work will mean you will have a big time slot of “play” in the near future!

    • Beth says:

      Keep an eye on his schedule, Julie. He lives in Clear Lake, so plays around there a lot. Just make sure you tell him I sent you! 🙂 And give him a hug for me.

      Well, one can only hope playing is in the future – even a small dose would be nice!

      Sorry you missed Kelly! Next time….

Leave a Reply

