Jim Hoehn – Callin’ in Gone

Another newcomer to the blog – Jim Hoehn is a journalist who just happens to write great songs. So if you enjoy smart lyrics and punny songs, check him out!

This one was picked up by The Boat Drunks, who are really well known in the Trop Rock world. So if you’ve ever listened to Radio Margaritaville, you’ve probably heard it. (Thanks to Shurl Gates of Gates Music Management for the great video!)

Dead stuck in traffic, you know I’m headed for a job I hate
Ain’t nothing movin’ but the hands on my watch
Full throttle hurry up and wait
I’m sick of the retrace, I can’t take one more day
My life is too short to live it this way

I’m dialin’ the office, put the bossman on
I’m not callin’ in sick, I’m callin’ in gone
I’m callin’ in gone, full-fledged adios
I’m leavin’ this cubicle for a spot on the coast
Gonna find me a beach that’s where I belong
I’m not callin’ in sick, I’m callin’ in gone

What the hell are you doin’, I keep asking myself
Only I know the answer, there’s nobody else
Like a rat on the wheel, that’s how I compare
I’m running all day and getting nowhere

So enough is enough, I’m saying so long
I’m not callin’ in sick, I’m callin’ in gone

No jacket and tie, no morning commute
I’m waving goodbye, a one finger salute
Going down to the ocean, gonna lay in the sun
The only boss I’ll hear is singing Born to Run

I’ve got plenty of room, why don’t you come along
We won’t be callin’ in sick, we’re callin’ in gone
I’m callin’ in gone, full-fledged adios
I’m leavin’ this cubicle for a spot on the coast

Gonna find me a beach, that’s where I belong
I’m not callin’ in sick, I’m callin’ in gone

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jim Hoehn – Callin’ in Gone

  1. Liane says:

    Two thumbs up! But you knew I would think so.

  2. Barbara Regan says:

    Been gone for a little over a year and it’s the best decision ever!! One may need a paycheck but definitely not the stress. There are better ways to do this folks!

Leave a Reply

