Slowing down

It’s late and I’m nestled on my comfy couch in my cozy little condo. The only sounds are the living room clock ticking away the minutes over the steady hum of the refrigerator. It’s time to go to bed, but I want to enjoy the peace and quiet for a few more minutes before I end my day.

I’m reminded of an old song, but I can’t remember the words (although I’m sure my sister can). Something about being X o’clock in the morning, and lighting another cigarette. I think the song is about loneliness, but the memory I have of it is merely the feeling of the quiet night closing in around you.

The world zooms by at such a frantic pace. Smart phones, microwaves, HOV lanes. Everyone rushing to fill every minute. I’m as guilty as anyone, constantly feeling the need to do, achieve, accomplish, cram it all in. Dashing through life, not taking time to stop and smell a rose – heck, not even glance at one as I run past it.

Maybe that’s why the idea of a little log cabin in the woods has always appealed to me. Not only for the tranquility and the beauty, being surrounded by nature, far removed from the hustle and bustle of modern-day life, but maybe because it feels like in a place like that, you could relax. It would be a nest, with a fireplace and comfy chair, lots of books and cookies and coffee. Time to gaze out the window and dream. To read, nap, think, write. Just to be.

Of course that’s an illusion. There will always be bills to pay and chores to do and meals to make. People to communicate with. Responsibilities to shoulder. But maybe, just maybe, life in that little cabin would be simpler. Maybe it would be an enforced simplicity, brought about by a remote location, limited resources, or the necessity of making different choices.

I guess we could apply those same rules to any place; we don’t have to relocate to find peace. Right now, my little condo is an incredibly peaceful place. Perhaps I’m the one that introduces the chaos, with the demands I put on myself and my life. Perhaps I need to simplify my insides, rather than my outsides. Put more effort into creating my own little hideaway, wherever I happen to be.

Maybe I could be more productive if I took more time to stop and reset, from time to time…

Now isn’t that typical? I’m justifying the idea of relaxing – if it makes me more efficient, then it’s good. And that’s just nuts. I believe I need to learn to relax, just for relaxing’s sake. (This is something that Phil’s been trying to teach me for a while. Maybe the lesson is finally sinking in.)

So maybe tomorrow, in the midst of my insane day, I’ll find time to relax. Catch some rays. Read a book. Even write a song (okay, so technically that’s not relaxing, but it’s a lot more enjoyable than most of the other things I could be doing).

I’ll report back and let you know how successful I am. Wish me luck.

But in the meantime, if you know which song I’m talking about, chime in. And if you know of a log cabin in the woods that’s easily accessible from Phoenix without the use of a transporter, let me know that too!

I wish you peace, wherever you may find it.

This entry was posted in Deep thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Slowing down

  1. LoriH says:

    A little yellow beach cottage….

    Maybe the song is about a comfortable eye of the storm with the world swirling around, little smile on your face knowing it cant get to you until you decide to step out into it. Sounds delicious as that glass of wine you better be drinking by the pool (or a shot of tequila in celebration of Bday week).

    A wise woman once told me, “Be kind to yourself.” ~busy OR calm~

    XOXO,
    LH

    • Beth says:

      I think that woman gave all her wisdom away! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the reminder, LH. I will spend some time at the pool today, per Dr. LH’s prescription. Might skip the wine til later, though! Wish you were here to share it with me.

  2. Whit says:

    Hi Beth,

    You know I have a saying for that – Slack when possible. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. MrsDeb says:

    Hmm…my first thought was “Two Sleepy People” –

    Here we are, out of cigarettes / Holding hands and yawning / Look how late it gets / Two sleepy people by dawn’s early light / And too much in love to say goodnight.

    ?

    • Beth says:

      That’s a good one, but not it. It’s not as popular. As old if not older, though. I remember hearing it in London…thanks for trying! You’ll figure it out, I’m sure. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. “… a little log cabin in the woods has always appealed to me. Not only for the tranquility and the beauty, being surrounded by nature, far removed from the hustle and bustle of modern-day life, but maybe because it feels like in a place like that, you could relax. It would be a nest, with a fireplace and comfy chair, lots of books and cookies and coffee. Time to gaze out the window and dream. To read, nap, think, write. Just to be.”

    This is the description of my perfect dream home…. Thanks!

    Hi Whit!! How you doin’?

    • Beth says:

      Now we just need to find them, Beth! Or maybe build a bunch and sell them. Spaced far apart, of course! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for stopping!

    • Whit says:

      Hi Beth Ann,

      Everything has been going fine. Haven’t heard from you in awhile. Hope you’re doing good.

  5. Julie says:

    Googling the lyrics, is this it?

    I do think we need to make the effort to simplify. I enjoy the times I have spent with only a land-line phone, CD/Tape player, and TV that only plays DVD/Videos when I am at the cabin. Mostly, I listen to nothing but the birds and the wind, and the rain and thunder when they come. I read and busy myself in tending to the house, critters and meals. I go to bed at 10:30 and am up shortly after the sun, in total harmony with the natural cycle of the day. I think it’s about a full day’s drive from Phoenix.

    • Beth says:

      What a beautiful song, Julie. Thanks for the clip, and for finding it. I’m still baffled. But now I have a pretty piece of music to listen to.

      And I hope you can spend a lot of time at the cabin this year. You’re so lucky to have it to escape to! Hopefully someday I’ll see it!

  6. mandacat1 says:

    I’m relaxing for relaxings sake and randomly felt to Google that sentence. Ur beautiful blog came up x I hope u achieve it x

Leave a Reply

