Sunday Sunday

Florida rainstorm - a little different than Arizona rain

Well, it rained all night, but I missed it – except for waking a couple of times and hearing it pitter patter on the sidewalk. But there’s a fountain outside my window, and I’m never sure whether the sound of running water I hear at night is fountain or rain. The wet sidewalks this morning tell me it was Ma Nature’s shower, not the manmade kind. Pictures on Facebook show a snowy scene in Sedona, three hours north. And I’m wondering if the desert will be blooming soon.

It’s cool and clear out there this morning – well, cool for Arizona. I know 48 degrees is a virtual heat wave for those of you in the Frozen North. But I’m in fuzzy slippers and a long-sleeved shirt, wishing I had some wood for the fireplace. (Yes, I’m a wuss. I admit it.) They’re promising mid-70’s by next weekend; I keep reminding myself (as do others) that I’ll miss these cool temperatures come summertime. Then again, my father always said if there were a perfect place, it’d be full.

Fun times lie ahead. My dear friend Adrienne will be here next weekend, and we’ll be celebrating our birthdays and exploring the area. Then there’s baseball the weekend after. Friends from Washington will be here visiting their son at the end of the month, so we’re planning a quick visit. And somewhere in there will be more baseball, bike rides, hikes, wine and bruschetta – and probably frozen yogurt. (There’s also job hunting and working and errands and chores, but those things don’t really fall into the “fun” category.)

But today it’s work, and an afternoon stop at the Arcadia Tavern. And probably more coffee.

I’m off to find a sweater, and buckle down to work. I hope you’re warm and cozy, wherever you are, and enjoying a peaceful Sunday. And if it’s raining there, send any extra down this way!

This entry was posted in Everyday life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunday Sunday

  1. Whit says:

    Hi Beth,

    Your comment about the fountain and the rain reminded me of FMom. When she was a child the house she lived in had a tin roof. When she bought this house she had my brothers put a piece of tin roofing on the ground outside of her bedroom window. She said when it rained, the rain falling from the roof onto the tin reminded her of when she was a child, and how it soothed or relaxed her and made it easy for her to fall asleep.

    I was trying to think of something from my childhood that would do that, and I can’t come up with a darn thing. Drat! 😦

    • Beth says:

      I often thought of putting a piece on the roof, FM! Just a small piece, to hear the rain pitter pattering on. My husband thought I was nuts. I didn’t think about doing it myself, and putting it on the ground! That’s a great idea. 🙂

      Maybe you need to do it now! Although I don’t know that the sound would make it easier to slack. 🙂

      You tell such great stories!! Thanks for sharing them with me.

  2. 48 degrees?! That is cool for Arizona, even this time of year. It’s been way nastier up here though!

    • Beth says:

      I know North Idaho’s been crazy, Conda. You guys too, huh? Yep, coolish here. I’ll try not to complain too much when summer sets in, though…

Leave a Reply

