Salt River Fields – new home of the Diamondbacks/Rockies spring training

The entrance

Last week we drove east to the new Diamondbacks/ Rockies spring training facility, Salt River Fields at Talking Stick. It’s the first Major League Baseball training facility in the nation to be built on Indian land in the nation, and is stunning. Since the Diamondbacks and the Rockies are Phil’s two favorite teams, and you know how I am about sports in general, it only made sense for us to check out their new home.

We arrived after the day’s practice was over, but the facility was wide open for us to wander through. Nothing was open yet, but there was evidence of workers setting up the food stands and the team stores. The grass was manicured, the equipment sparkling, and the electronic billboard welcomed visitors. Quite a few people wandered around with us as we circled the stadium, snapping pictures. It was kind of a festive atmosphere, even though nothing was really going on.

The stadium reminds me a lot of Bright House Field in Florida, where the Phillies train. The layout is similar – well, except that there’s no tiki bar, sigh. Wide walkways, lots of different food vendors, grassy areas to relax on while watching the game. Soon it will be filled with people talking, laughing, drinking, eating, and taking in spring training games, so I’m glad we had the chance to see it when it’s still clean and peaceful.

More grass than I've seen since I moved here!

We bought tickets for a game between the two teams coming up in a couple of weeks – my first spring training game in the Cactus League! Since I’m missing my annual spring training trip to FL with Deb and Daryll this year, it’s nice to have the chance to see a few games locally. We just have to sit down and figure out which games we can attend, and buy tickets before they’re all gone. Unlike FL, all of the teams play in the Phoenix Valley, which makes it pretty doggone convenient. Now if we just didn’t have to work during the day, so we could see more games…

Anyway, I’ll report back in a couple of weeks, after the game. It’s an evening event, so I’m looking forward to a little baseball under the Arizona stars. Now if I could just convince them to put in a tiki bar…

And more water than I've seen since I moved here!

Check out the mountains!

This entry was posted in Life in the desert and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Salt River Fields – new home of the Diamondbacks/Rockies spring training

  1. Whit says:

    Hi Beth,

    Some beautiful pictures you took. I know you’ll be looking forward to seeing some games there.

    I have a bil who is a big sports fan. I got to reminiscing about my stay in New Hampshire and told him of the time I went to Wrigley Field to watch a game. He asked me which team Boston had played, and I told him it was so long ago I didn’t remember. He was aghast to think I didn’t remember. He started telling me how Wrigley Field was historic and a legend. I felt like I should have spoken of Wrigley Field as if I was approaching an altar. Anyway after he gave me my history lesson I changed the subject over to skiing, and how I had skied where the Olympics were held and on and on and on. Needless to say, we had a “Sports Off”, and needless to say he won. 😉

    Take care

    Whit

    • Beth says:

      Yeah, I don’t remember things like that, FM. I love the old ball parks, though, and am sorry when they destroy them and replace them with big shiny ones. There’s something about the history of the places.

      I think your Olympic story would win over any of his stories!! 🙂

  2. Johnd76 says:

    Neat blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog jump out. Please let me know where you got your design. Thanks eegdfaeggebd

Leave a Reply

