Rainy days never get me down

It rained yesterday.

Now, for most of you that’s not a big deal. But here in the desert, it was cause for celebration.

Well, I celebrated. Most folks stayed home.

We, on the other hand, went out in it. We had coffee at Lux in the morning, and I fretted that the gray skies were going to clear, instead of producing the much-anticipated showers. Luckily, later in the day I heard a familiar sound, and peeked out the window.

Voila. Rain.

I stood on the balcony and breathed in the smell of it, let the drops drip across my fingers, and hoped that it would last forever. I could almost hear the grass and plants and trees whispering “thank you” to Mother Nature.

Then we drove to the yogurt shop (they have self-serve yogurt bars here that have quickly become my favorite not-so-sinful treat. Picture 8-10 types of yogurt, and 30-40 toppings that include fresh fruit, cereals, chocolates, and other goodies.), and watched the rain pool in the parking lot while we enjoyed our snack. Then we picked up some groceries and headed home – just in time for the skies to clear and the rain to stop.

Oh well, at least I got to walk around in it a bit. It stopped before I could dash to the hot tub and soak in it.

Anyway, they’re calling for more today, but only 30%. So I doubt it’ll happen. At least I had an hour or so yesterday to enjoy it.

If you have any extra rain, send it to the desert. I know at least one person who would welcome it with open arms.

This entry was posted in Everyday life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rainy days never get me down

  1. Whit says:

    Hi Beth,

    Actually I’m a rainy day type person too. When rain is predicted I sort of look forward to it. However, the extremely strong thunderstorms I can do without. About two years ago we had a bad thunderstorm come through and the winds took out the top of a tall pine tree in the front yard. It took it across the street into the power lines and the neighbors front yard. Now that, I can do without. 🙂

    • Beth says:

      Hey Whit! I love thunderstorms, but not when they involve falling trees and power outages. So I guess I just like the thunder and lightning part.

      Our rain is over already, sigh. You’ll probably get some before we do…

      I always love your stories! Thanks for sharing!

  2. LoriH says:

    Its raining today….Here. You can have it.

  3. Julie says:

    Come visit this Summer! We usually have afternoon rain and cool temps in the mountains! Those are 2 of the things we love up there. (Beth, I’ll keep slowly trying to get you to come up to the caddy-corner state this Summer! 😉 )

Leave a Reply

