Survived!

Quick note, because it’s after midnight and I need to get my beauty rest. I survived my first day at the temp job. It was just fine. The people are nice, the atmosphere comfortable, the work easy. They were impressed with my skill and speed, and pleased that I’m flexible. The time went pretty quickly, and the office manager gave me a hug at the end of the day. So all in all, I worried for nothing.

Of course.

Isn’t there a saying about how most of the things we worry about don’t happen? Think of how much energy we’d have if we didn’t waste so much of it worrying? Things will happen as they’ll happen – if you can’t change it, don’t worry about it. Plan your reaction to what might happen, and be done with it. Move on. Spend your energy on things you CAN change. (LH would point out that I spend way too much time fretting about the weather, right LH? After all, it IS just weather!! Nothing I can do about it.)

Anyway, we’ll see how things go. For now, it’s easy and painless. It gets me out of the house. But I still have the transcription job, so I fear I’ll be burning the midnight oil more often than not (like tonight). I’ll figure it out.

So thanks for your support – I’m sure all of the good vibes you sent got me through today!

Oh, I forgot the best part…there’s a Starbucks across the street, and a gelato place next door – I’ll be in snack heaven!! Coffee and ice cream – aren’t they two of the main food groups?

I’ll try to find time to be more thoughtful tomorrow. Although there’s an art walk in Scottsdale tomorrow night…hmm….and I have songs to write and and and…..

Anyone have a few extra hours in the day they can lend me? πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Everyday life. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Survived!

  1. Whit says:

    Hi Beth,

    I know I left a comment yesterday, but I guess it didn’t take. I’m glad the job is turning out good and that coffee and ice cream is so close. πŸ™‚

    Don’t work too hard and slack when possible.

    Take care

    FM

    • Beth says:

      Hey Fam! Sorry the blog ate your comment, but I’m glad you came back. I skipped the ice cream today, unfortunately – and I still haven’t slacked! Guess I better get busy on both. Hope the snow melted, and spring comes sooner than later…take care!!

  2. LoriH says:

    YAY for happy endings (or beginnings, in this case)! See, the java and gelato were the universe’s treat to you for getting out there and making some new friends (oh, and working too)! Glad it went smoothly and was relatively painless. ALL good things, and those ARE the main food groups, along with Krispy Kreme donuts and red licorice, so you should be all set for your healthy self!

    BTW: It was -19 DEGREES when I got up this morning and I have to go out IN it! Its USUALLY just weather. This, I think, is pure torture!

    XOXOXO,
    LH

    • Beth says:

      I’ve corrupted you, LH – now you are preoccupied with weather, just as I’m starting to think I need to stop being such a baby about it. πŸ™‚ Hope you stayed warm, and got home to your fire and comfy chair quickly!!

      You forgot tequila….

  3. John Reno says:

    Beth,

    Actually, there are three major food groups… soft, wet & crunchy. Congrats on surviving your first day. πŸ˜‰

    JR

  4. Beth says:

    It’s all in your perspective, LH. πŸ™‚

  5. Julie says:

    Good for you, busy Beth! Hope you enjoy the new office, and snacks! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

