Winter storming

Greetings from the desert, where it’s 34 degrees. With 28 mph winds. So the “feels like” temp is 22. Granted, compared to the rest of the country that’s a balmy summer day but here in the desert, it’s FREEZING!! I have my space heater on here in the office, and am trying to decide if I really need to go out today.

As much as I miss my friends up north, on days like today I’m very grateful NOT to be living in Snow Country any longer. The only way I’d survive would be cuddled up next to a wood stove with a good book and a cup of coffee, refusing to emerge until spring. Yes, I have become a weather weenie. Too many days driving on icy roads, shoveling driveways, bundling up against the chill. Give me a job where I work from home and a chauffeur and someone to run errands, and I’d move back. But otherwise…

So today I’m hoping all of my Northern friends are home safe, and not battling the elements to get to work, or wherever you might need to go. The pictures online and on The Weather Channel are amazing. Kind of early for the “Storm of the Century,” though. Then again, maybe that means you all will be safe for another few decades…

I’m taking the MacBook in for a checkup today so if you don’t hear from me, it’s not because my fingers are too numb to type. I’ll take the opportunity to work on some new songs the old-fashioned way. Now if I can just find some paper and a pen…

Share your Storm of the Century tales if you’ve got ’em!

This entry was posted in Life in the desert. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Winter storming

  1. John Reno says:

    Sunny (a little hazy, actually) and 76 degrees here in PC today! Hey, aren’t deserts supposed to be hot? 😉

  2. bhanggeli says:

    That’s what I thought, JR! Apparently my due diligence wasn’t diligent enough!

  3. Family Man says:

    Hi Beth,

    We’re down into the 20-30’s today, but no snow or ice. I hope you stay warm out there in the desert.

    Hope your Mac is in good working order. I think I told you, but my brother just bought a Mac and he loves it. One day hopefully I might get one.

    Take care,

    Whit

    • bhanggeli says:

      Hey Fam! Sorry you didn’t get any snow, but you’re probably not complaining.

      The Mac is basically fine – the CD drive stopped working yesterday. But I decided to wait to bring it in…hard to let it go right now. Maybe next week…

      Hopefully you’ll have one someday – I love mine!

      Thanks for stopping – you stay warm in the “toasty” south!

  4. Liane says:

    74 in St. Augustine today. But don’t ask about tomorrow – an aberration to be sure (55 for the projected high). I’m loving the south and wondering why I didn’t come south sooner. Like Beth, don’t miss the snow and cold unless we have driver, grocery shopper, etc. Ahhh.

  5. bhanggeli says:

    I’m wishing your driver could bring me some of those cookies, Liane! 🙂

  6. Julie says:

    I think we’re actually down south of you in latitude, but we are freezing for 4 days, expecting sleet, ice and then snow tomorrow and Friday! Most maniacal weather! I think the only spot that is staying reasonably, steadily warm this Winter is San Diego.

  7. LoriH says:

    Hey chica! Uhm 19 inches (on top of what we already had) + 50 MPH winds = National Guard and rescues on snowmobiles, closed 6-lane highways and no business or public establishment open (including the US MAIL!) for a few days. Good thing I work at home and hibernated! It was definitely pretty, just not sure where it is going to go come spring. YIKES! Enjoy your balmy weather – its -7 DEGREES (not wind chill) this am! No wonder Im grouchy…

  8. bhanggeli says:

    You have earned the right to be grouchy, LH. It’s 27 right now. But that would be balmy for you! Stay home, warm, safe, and wait for the plow guy. I bet your pup is wondering what the heck is going on! Crazy crazy crazy.

Leave a Reply

